Larson Leads All 30 At Wayne County

Kyle Larson (57) races under Andrew Parker Monday night at Wayne County Speedway. (Paul Arch photo)

ORRVILLE, Ohio — Kyle Larson became the first repeat winner of Cometic Gasket Ohio Sprint Speedweek presented by C&R Racing on Monday night at Wayne County Speedway, leading all 30 circuits to claim his second $5,000 top prize in three days.

It was Larson’s eighth All Star victory and third at Wayne County Speedway.

Larson earned the Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions presented by Mobil 1 victory from the outside-front row, getting the early jump on Gio Scelzi and Jac Haudenschild.

“We weren’t very good in our heat race, but Paul Silva made some adjustments and we were much better in the dash,” Larson said. “It’s really important to make the dashes. Not only does that put you closer to the front in the main, but it also gives you more access to the track so you can try and learn something. Hats off to Paul (Silva) and this entire team. He wasn’t too happy about last night, but he’s incredibly smart and keeps me going in the right direction.”

Utilizing the top groove, Larson maintained a blistering pace during his campaign at the front of the field, very rarely having to deal with lapped traffic as four cautions, two of which resulting in red flag conditions, would keep the field in check.

Kyle Larson celebrates victory at Wayne County Speedway. (Todd Ridgeway photo)

Larson’s closest call of the main event occurred with just a handful of circuits remaining. Former Wayne County Speedway track champion Andrew Palker was beginning to reel in Larson as the front-runners entered traffic.

Setting up Larson for a last-ditch effort takeover, Palker attempted to drive underneath Larson at the exit of turn four on lap 29 and again at the entrance of turn one on lap 30. Larson’s momentum proved to be too strong, holding on to score the Speedweek triumph.

Palker finished second, followed by recent Attica Raceway Park winner Paul McMahan, Carson Macedo and Christopher Bell.

The finish:
1. 57-Kyle Larson [2]; 2. 57X-Andrew Palker [4]; 3. 13-Paul McMahan [6]; 4. 3G-Carson Macedo [7]; 5. 11N-Christopher Bell [10]; 6. 22-Brandon Spithaler [13]; 7. 48-Danny Dietrich [15]; 8. 11-Ryan Smith [23]; 9. 10H-Chad Kemenah [25]; 10. 7K-Cale Conley [18]; 11. 38K-Brad Haudenschild [16]; 12. 39-Spencer Bayston [17]; 13. 97-Broc Martin [19]; 14. 71-Ayrton Olsen [11]; 15. 3-Jac Haudenschild [3]; 16. 9J-Dean Jacobs [20]; 17. 4K-Kasey Kahne [9]; 18. O7-Gerard McIntyre [21]; 19. 4-Parker Price-Miller [26]; 20. 24-Rico Abreu [24]; 21. 87-Aaron Reutzel [12]; 22. 71X-Gio Scelzi [1]; 23. 21-Cap Henry [5]; 24. 14-Tony Stewart [22]; 25. 5X-Justin Peck [14]; 26. 45-Trevor Baker