Knoxville Raceway on the first night of the 53rd FVP Knoxville Nationals. (Mike Kerchner photo)
Knoxville Raceway on the first night of the 53rd FVP Knoxville Nationals. (Mike Kerchner photo)

KNOXVILLE, Iowa — David Gravel has won the Wednesday night feature on the opening night of the 53rd annual FVP Knoxville Nationals.

Kings Royal winner Brad Sweet finished second with Tim Kaeding, Greg Hodnett and 24th-starter Daryn Pittman rounding out the top five. A full results story will be posted a bit later.

10:58: We apologize, we’ve been having some Internet difficulties. We are now under yellow after 12 laps. David Gravel leads with Brad Sweet second and Greg Hodnett third. Daryn Pittman has romped from 24th to seventh.

10:46: Yellow flag after seven laps when sixth-place Don Droud Jr. hits the turn-two wall. David Gravel leads over Greg Hodnett and Josh Schneiderman.

7 Laps: 6, 39, 49x, 18, 49, 57, 1d, 83, 11k, Pittman 15th, Schatz 16th

Five laps down, David Gravel leads Greg Hodnett.

10:39: Greg Hodnett led the first lap, but the yellow flag waved on lap two when Johnny Herrera stopped in turn one.

10:37: Four-wide parade lap is making its way around the track.

10:31 p.m.: Kyle Larson just said that he plans to attempt to leave Watkins Glen, N.Y., following Nationwide Series practice on Friday afternoon and return to Knoxville in time to run Friday’s program.

A main cars are pushing off.

10:28 p.m.: Greg Hodnett and Josh Schneiderman will share the front row for tonight’s 25-lap feature.

25 laps













10:22 p.m.: Jason Sides won the B main with Lynton Jeffrey, Donny Schatz and Daryn Pittman also transferring to the B main. Kyle Larson finished sixth and Sammy Swindell seventh and neither driver will be in tonight’s feature.

10:11 p.m.: B main is lining up behind the pace car.

10:03: Chad Kemenah dominated the seven-car C main. Matt Moro, Cole Wood and Ron Krysl also transferred to the B main.

Top 10 B Main starters: Jeffrey, Heskin, Sides, Schatz, Pittman, Larson, Blaney, Swindell, Dietrich.

9:45: To clarify an earlier typo, Lynton Jeffrey did not transfer and will be part of a loaded B main that will include Donny Schatz, Daryn Pittman, Kyle Larson and Sammy Swindell among others.

The C main is up next with Chad Kemenah and Dustin Morgan on the front row.

Previous articlePHOTOS: NASCAR Sprint Cup At Pocono
Next articleWOO: Knoxville Nationals Night One
Mike Kerchner
Mike Kerchner is a veteran racing journalist and has been a member of the SPEED SPORT family since joining Chris Economaki at National Speed Sport News in 1991. He is now the Editor-in-Chief of SPEED SPORT Magazine.