KISS Sprints Release 2013 Schedule

Kokomo Speedway will once again host the King of Indiana Sprint Series in 2013. (Gene Crucean Photo)
Kokomo Speedway will once again host the King of Indiana Sprint Series in 2013. (Gene Crucean Photo)

GAS CITY, Ind. – The King of Indiana Sprint Series has released its 2013 schedule of events.

The KISS series represents the best of Indiana’s sprint car racing. Jon Stanbrough earned his sixth KISS crown in 2012 as he continues to set the standard that others will be chasing for years.

Victories at Tri-State and Paragon increased his total to 19 KISS wins. To show how far ahead of anyone else Stanbrough’s records are, Dave Darland also won twice last year, moving to second with four KISS victories.

Seven of Indiana’s best ovals host this year’s KISS events. Although the Terre Haute Action Track hasn’t finalized their date, the schedule will be updated as soon as it is announced.

The remainder of the schedule will be completed in just 30 days. KISS racers will convene at Bloomington Speedway on the first Friday in May and two nights later they will tow to Kokomo Speedway for a Sunday night program.

The next Friday, KISS will compete at the Gas City I-69 Speedway. Then the KISS series will unload at Lawrenceburg Speedway on May 18.

Memorial Day weekend will see the KISS crowd head to Haubstadt’s Tri-State Speedway, for Sunday night racing. The grand finale and coronation of the 2013 King will be at Paragon Speedway, the following Saturday.

The King of Indiana will earn $1,200 out of the $4,200 point fund. The runner-up will get $900, and third through fifth will receive $800, $700 and $600. The KISS promoters have also included a minimum payoff, where any car that does not transfer to the feature will collect at least $100.

2013 King of Indiana Sprint Series Schedule

Date – Track – Location

TBA – Terre Haute Action Track – Terre Haute, Ind.

May 3 – Bloomington Speedway – Bloomington, Ind.

May 5 – Kokomo Speedway – Kokomo, Ind.

May 10 – Gas City I-69 Speedway – Gas City, Ind.

May 18 – Lawrenceburg Speedway – Lawrenceburg, Ind.

May 26 – Tri-State Speedway – Haubstadt, Ind.

June 1 – Paragon Speedway – Paragon, Ind.