Kaeding Banks King Of The West Cash

Tim Kaeding in victory lane at Silver Dollar Speedway. (M&M photo)
Tim Kaeding in victory lane at Silver Dollar Speedway. (M&M photo)

CHICO, Calif. — Tim Kaeding found himself in the right place at the right time and capitalized to score round two of the King of the West by NARC Fujitsu Sprint Car Series Fastest Four Days in Motorsports at Silver Dollar Speedway.

He pocketed $5,000 for his efforts.

Kaeding, started the 30-lapper in the fourth spot aboard Rod Tiner’s Shark Racing Engines Helix sprint car and watched the race unfold in front of him. He motored past fast qualifier Andy Forsberg on the second circuit for the runner-up spot and then had a front row seat when race leader Shane Golobic’s engine blew on lap six.

At the same time that was happening, the race came to a screeching halt when Stephen Ingraham took a nasty barrel roll down the back chute. He suffered a knee injury but limped away from his destroyed race car under his own power.

Kaeding inherited the lead for the restart, but had to fend off a tailgating Kyle Larson and the freight train that included Forsberg, Mitchell Faccinto, Bud Kaeding and Colby Copeland.  Larson began to challenge the leader as the pair zigged and zagged through slower traffic.

However, Larson charge ended when he jumped the cushion and spun on lap 17, bringing out the caution.

The two-time King of the West champion continued where he left off and survived two more caution periods on his way to his 67th series victory.

The battle for the runner-up position was a classic open wheel battle that saw the next three drivers swap positions on a corner by corner basis.  Pole Shuffle winner Mitchell Faccinto ultimately won that battle in the TSG Recycling Disposal KPC.

Forsberg settled for the show position aboard his own A & A Stepping Stone sprint car.  Bud Kaeding drove the Alviso Rock Maxim from 14thto finish fourth. Colby Copeland finished fifth.

“This one feels real good,” said Kaeding. “I don’t know how many of these wins I have left in my career so I’m enjoying everyone! I can’t say enough about Rod Tiner and this team who gave me a great race car. This one was a lot of fun.”

The finish:

Tim Kaeding, Mitchell Faccinto, Andy Forsberg, Bud Kaeding, Colby Copeland, Nathan Rolfe, D.J Netto, Dominic Scelzi, Kyle Larson, Rico Abreu, Jonathan Allard, Geoff Ensign, Ryan Bernal, Sean Watts, Heath Hall, Chelsea Blevins, Michael Ing, Gary Paulson, Shane Golobic, Stephen Ingraham, Cole Macedo, Willie Croft, Sean Becker.