Justin Grant Stars During Kokomo Klassic

Grant Stars Boyles Kokomo
Justin Grant (4) races under Clinton Boyles during Sunday night's Kokomo Klassic. (Jim DenHamer photo)

KOKOMO, Ind. – Justin Grant was the star of a thrilling and hotly-contested Kokomo Klassic for non-winged sprint cars on Sunday night at Kokomo Speedway.

After a back-and-forth duel with Kevin Thomas Jr. during the first half of the race, Grant took control of the 30-lap feature just past the midpoint. He grabbed the lead from Thomas for the final time on lap 18 and held off a hard-charging Thomas Meseraull for the victory.

Grant’s score earned he and the TOPP Motorsports team a $2,000 payday.

Meseraull gave a last-gasp effort on the outside of turns three and four on the final lap, but came up .173 seconds short at the finish and settled for second.

Scotty Weir, Kevin Thomas Jr. and Matt Cooley completed the top five.

The finish:

Justin Grant, Thomas Meseraull, Scotty Weir, Kevin Thomas Jr., Matt Cooley, Clinton Boyles, Dave Darland, Isaac Chapple, Tyler Hewitt, Travis Hery, Mario Clouser, Corey Smith, Gary Rooke, Ben Knight, Anthony Dalessio, Tye Mihocko, Parker Frederickson, Koby Barksdale, Cole Ketchum, Lee Underwood, Steve Thomas, David Hair, David Gross.