Johnson Ends NCRA Sprint Drought


PARK CITY, Kan. — J.D. Johnson took the lead coming out of turn two on the start and never looked back as he led wire to wire in claiming his first tour victory since 2010 in winning the National Championship Racing Ass’n sprint car feature Saturday night at 81 Speedway.

Tyler Drueke and Ty Williams started on the front row for the 25-lap feature but it was Johnson using the low line in turns one and two to take the lead as the green flag fell. Johnson would open up a half stretch lead by lap two while fourth starting Jeremy Campbell worked passed Drueke for the runner up position.

Johnson, aboard the Jeff Whitehead owned No. 8 Whitehead Motorsports sprinter, began approaching slow cars on lap eight allowing Campbell to lose to within five car lengths of the leader.  Johnson made quick work of the slower cars and once again opened a half stretch advantage at the races midway point.

Campbell, who came into the night with a 35-point lead over defending tour champion C.J. Johnson, would lose the runner-up position on lap thirteen as motor gremlins that struck him during heat race action, slowed his pace once again allowing Drueke to reclaim second.

Drueke looked to run down the leader and there was no stopping J.D. Johnson on this night as he went on to take the half stretch victory for this first series triumph since July of 2010.

C.J. Johnson would get by Campbell for third with four laps to go while Williams rounded out the top five.

The finish:

J.D. Johnson, Tyler Drueke, C.J. Johnson, Jeremy Campbell, Ty Williams, Jon Freeman, Raymond Seeman, Jeff Stasa, Cody Forshee, Rick Wright, Scott Lehman, Jake Greider, Kaden Taylor