It’s All Stewart In Skagit Prelim


ALGER, Wash. — Over the years, not only has Shane Stewart won two Jim Raper Memorial Dirt Cups but he has also won more than a few preliminary night features as well.

Friday night was no different at Skagit Speedway as Stewart lead all 25 laps for the win.

Two-time World of Outlaws champion Jason Meyers set the mark with quick time in qualifying at 11.266 seconds around the high banked three-tenths-mile oval.

In the main, Stewart got the lead coming off of turn two with a rocket launch around Bloodgood to take the lead. Rilat followed shortly thereafter and the two set forth an assault on the field quickly getting into lapped traffic.

The first of just two yellows came out on the thirteenth lap for a slowing Barnes for steering issues on the back stretch. Lap 17 saw Trey Starks slow for throttle problems bringing out the second caution. On lap 24, a three-car tangle in turn four ended the night for Hirst, Chad Hillier and Hafertepe.

From the final restart on the race was on for points with Meyers coming from out of nowhere to snag a sixth-place finish.

The top five were Stewart, Rilat, Peter Murphy, Jonathan Allard and Rico Abreu.

The top five in points after night one are Allard, Meyers, Abreu, Murphy and Stewart.

Brandon Berg dominated the Outlaw Tuner main and Rick Taylor won the dwarf car race. Thursday’s rained out preliminary is scheduled for 1 p.m. Saturday afternoon with the Jim Raper Memorial Dirt Cup at 7:30.

The finish:

Shane Stewart, Travis Rilat, Peter Murphy, Jonathan Allard, Rico Abreu, Jason Meyers, Roger Crockett, Josh DeWitt, Jesse Whitney, Travis Jacobson, Carson Macedo, Jason Bloodgood, Jonathan Jorgenson, Brock Lemley, Eric Fisher, Henry Van Dam, Scott Parker, Sam Hafertepe Jr., Chad Hillier, Kyle Hirst, Trey Starks, Jayme Barnes.