It’s All Hagar In Tennessee


ATWOOD, Tenn. – Saturday night at Clayhill Motorsports, the Derek Hagar and Tim Crawley Show in the United Sprint Car Series continued.

Hagar, the defending USCS champion, started seventh but quickly marched forward, snatching the lead from K&N polesitter Morgan Turpen on lap five of the 30-lap Clayhill Clash and never looked back from there en route to victory lane. Hagar held off 2012 champion Crawley for his seventh USCS victory of the season and first since mid-June at East Alabama Motor Speedway in the annual Randy Helton Memorial.

The victory was Hagar’s 28th career USCS feature win, which is fourth on the all-time list behind only Tim Crawley, Terry Gray and Kenny Adams.

The race featured three lead changes in the opening five laps, with Terry Gray snatching the lead from teammate and polesitter Turpen on the opening lap before Turpen regained the top spot one lap later. After Gray flipped and fell out of the race on lap four, Hagar surged from third to first to grab the lead on the restart and from there, the die was cast.

Crawley got by Turpen near the mid-point of the race and chased Hagar to the finish line in second, and Marshall Skinner, also a Marion native, rounded out the podium in third. Turpen came home in fourth and Tyler Blank completed the top five.

The finish:

Derek Hagar, Tim Crawley, Marshall Skinner, Morgan Turpen, Tyler Blank, Jerod Roller, A.G. Rains, Dalton Davis, Ernie Ainsworth, Justin Webb, Anthony Nicholson, Taylor Tidmore, Eddie Gallagher, Jeff Willingham, Curt Terrell, Jake Roach, Zach Roach, Wesley Shephard, Brandon Kilpatrick, Ronny Howard, Terry Gray, Brett McMillen, Kevin Kilpatrick.