It’s All Dietrich In Grove All Stars

Danny Dietrich (48) fights off Tim Shaffer en route to winning Friday night's All Star sprint car feature at Pennsylvania's Williams Grove Speedway. (Julia Johnson photo)
Danny Dietrich (48) fights off Tim Shaffer en route to winning Friday night’s All Star sprint car feature at Pennsylvania’s Williams Grove Speedway. (Julia Johnson photo)

MECHANICSBURG, Pa. — Danny Dietrich scored a flag-to-flag victory over the All Star Circuit of Champions sprint cars at Williams Grove Speedway Friday night, earning $5,000 for the 30-lap win.

With the win, Dietrich became the first repeat 410 sprint car winner of the season at the track.

He said in victory lane that he had his eye on the winner’s circle from the beginning of the night and went to the post for the feature from the pole.

“This was was definitely for Leffler. It hit home,” Dietrich said, dedicating his win while speaking of the loss just two days earlier of California’s Jason Leffler after a sprint car racing accident in New Jersey. “We were going for it from the get go. I wanted this one pretty bad. The impact that he left is pretty remarkable on everybody.”

Lance Dewease who started third in the field and took second from defending All Stars champion Tim Shaffer on a lap-four restart chased Dietrich to the finish.

During the early going Dewease was able to close on Dietrich using the cushion in the first and second corners but after Dietrich moved up and took the line as well by mid-race, Dewease’s chances were gone.

The leaders entered lapped traffic at the halfway point and even then Dewease couldn’t keep pace with the leader as he was just too strong off of the cushion to be caught.

“We were pretty good early and weren’t no good at the end,” Dewease said.

“I was hoping he would have stayed down there a few more laps,” he said of Dietrich.

Shaffer was the highest All Stars finisher in third after fending off Dale Blaney and Brent Marks in the final stages.

“It’s really tough here. It’s so hard to get your car so good here,” Shaffer said.

Shaffer too commented on the loss of Leffler as did Dewease moments earlier, both noting that they would have liked to have won in his memory.

“It really hurts inside,” Shaffer said.

Dale Blaney made it two All Stars in the top five with a finish of fourth followed by Marks.

Fast time was set by Blaney with a lap of 16.799 seconds.

Shawn Jackson led all 20 laps of the ARDC Midget feature for the victory over Brett Arndt.

The finish:

Danny Dietrich, Lance Dewease, Tim Shaffer, Dale Blaney, Brent Marks, Alan Krimes, Brian Montieth, Logan Schuchart, Fred Rahmer, Cory Haas, Stevie Smith, Greg Hodnett, Gerard McIntyre Jr., Don Kreitz Jr., Aaron Ott, Danny Holtgraver, Ryan Smith, Caleb Helms, Jac Haudenschild,Chad Layton, Curt Michael, Jim Siegel, Justin Henderson, Adam Wilt