Hirst Wins, But Meyers Is Trophy Cup Champ


TULARE, Calif. — Two-time World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series champion Jason Meyers may only be racing part time these days, but he hasn’t lost his touch.

Meyers earned the most points during two nights of racing at the third-mile dirt track and claimed the 2012 Trophy Cup championship.

Meyers finished second on Saturday night, chasing Kyle Hirst to the checkered flag in the feature event with Rico Abreu, who won Friday night’s feature, Paul McMahan and Roger Crockett completing the top five.

Shane Stewart finished second in points with Abreu third.