Herrera Is A New Mexico Sweeper


VADO, N.M. – Johnny Herrera closed out the weekend at Vado Speedway Park by sweeping the Lucas Oil POWRi 305 Winged Sprint Car portion of the Turkey Bowl on Saturday night.

Herrera, who spent most of the year working as a crew chief for Harli White and rarely climbed behind the wheel of a race car this season, started Saturday’s feature from the third position.

He quickly marched to the front, eventually collecting the checkered flag ahead of runner-up Royal Jones.

Jett Carney was third, followed by Rick Ziehl and Buddy Tubbs.

Anton Hernandez also completed a weekend sweep by winning the non-winged 360 sprint car feature Saturday night at Vado Speedway Park.

The finish:

Johnny Herrera, Royal Jones, Jett Carney, Rick Ziehl, Buddy Tubbs, Lone Wofford, Brandon Schure, Dylan Harris, C.J. Hulsey, Vance Wofford, Richard Wilbee, Robert Herrera, Jon McDaniel, Jerill Higginbotham, Chuck Jackson, Jeremy Jonas, Derek DeMartino, Kyle McCutcheon, Wes Wofford, John Carney II, Rickey Hood.