Henes Is Champion As Wyckoff Wires MSR Lights Finale

Joey Wyckoff in victory lane. (David Sink photo)

AMHERST, Ohio – Joey Wyckoff led all the way to capture the final win of the Must See Racing Midwest Lights Series season on Sunday night at Lorain County Raceway Park.

While Wyckoff was celebrating the spoils of victory, teenager J.J. Henes was celebrating for a different reason, after being crowned the inaugural Midwest Lights champion.

Wyckoff paced all 30 laps of the main event after starting from the pole, while Henes stuck to the bumper of the Dave Koyan-owned No. 90 and kept Wyckoff honest all race long.

Henes took the checkered flag .428 seconds back of Wyckoff, but second was more than enough when considering that his championship rival – Dylan Watson – finished fifth.

That difference allowed Henes to secure the crown by a scant two points over Watson.

Jason Rader and James Rader split Henes and Watson by coming home third and fourth, respectively.

Watson and Wyckoff won heat races, while 410 sprint car veteran Charlie Schultz topped qualifying for the crate engine-powered division with a lap of 13.520 seconds around the three-eighths-mile, semi-banked oval.

Updates on Must See Racing’s 2021 plans will be announced in due course.

The finish:

Joey Wyckoff, J.J. Henes, Jason Rader, James Rader, Dylan Watson, Tim Henthorne, Joshua Sexton, Charlie Schultz, Brenden Torok, Justin Stanley.