Haudenschild Invades 34 Raceway


WEST BURLINGTON, Iowa – Jac Haudenschild scored his first career win with the Brockway Mechanical & Roofing Sprint Invaders at 34 Raceway Sunday night.

The event kicked off the 2014 season for the Sprint Invaders, and the Wooster, Ohio, native was the first driver from his state to win a feature in the series’ 13-year history.

Jon Agan led the first lap before Bret Tripplett shot by and took off from the field in the non-stop 20-lapper. The Lincoln, Ill., driver built a straightaway lead as Wayne Johnson grabbed second from Agan on lap five. Haudenschild followed Johnson by Agan a lap later and the two veterans grappled for the runner-up position.

At the halfway point Tripplett’s lead in traffic was about a straightaway over Johnson, Haudenschild, Agan and Kaley Gharst. Haudenschild shot around Johnson on lap 13 and began his pursuit of Tripplett, who was struggling to lap Andy Huston.

Haudenschild reeled in the leader and grabbed the point with two to go before pulling away to his first victory of 2014.

“(Triplett) was so far out there I didn’t know who was leading,” said Haudenschild in victory lane. “We got him right there at the end. It was definitely a fun race. I’m glad we stopped here. It’s a nice little racetrack. Scott (Benic) got the car working good, and my car owner, Rick Rogers, isn’t here tonight, but I’m glad to be in the 9w car.”

Tripplett settled for second.

“For just finishing this car last night, and being late getting here, things went well,” Tripplett said. “You could tell I was rusty in lapped traffic. I’ve been sitting around all winter, while some of these guys have been racing. It’s the first night out, but we definitely have to get better in traffic. I just have to thank my wife for letting me come up here, along with my mom and dad and Steve Shively.”

Johnson was third, and talked about Triplett getting away early ahead of Agan and Gharst. Josh Schneiderman, Bobby Mincer, hard-charger Joey Moughan, Carson McCarl and Tony Shilling rounded out the top ten.

Shilling, Gharst and Haudenschild won heat races. Shilling took the Dash and Russ Hall won the B main.