Hannagan Is First Renegade Winner

Randy Hannagan won Saturday's Renegade Sprints debut at Atomic Speedway in Ohio.
Randy Hannagan won Saturday's Renegade Sprints debut at Atomic Speedway in Ohio.
Randy Hannagan won Saturday’s Renegade Sprints debut at Atomic Speedway in Ohio.

CHILLICOTHE, Ohio — Randy Hannagan capitalized on a late opportunity to become the inaugural Renegade Sprints feature winner on Saturday at Atomic Speedway.

Hannagan, who started the 40-lap feature on the inside of the sixth row, took over the top spot when leader Cole Duncan got upside down with two laps remaining. Hannagan then held off 18th-starter Brandon Wimmer during a green-white-checkered finish to garner the $5,000-to-win victory at the Freedom 40.

“I would like to thank (Atomic Speedway owner and promoter) Brad (McCown) and the Renegade Series,” Hannagan said. “It’s a new beginning and what a great way to start.”

Hannagan methodically maneuvered toward the front once the green flag was waved, but it was Duncan who set a torrid pace.

After polesitter Caleb Armstrong led the opening lap before exiting the track a few laps later with a mechanical issue, Duncan was on cruise control out front. He led almost every lap before catching a rut exiting turn four with only a couple of laps remaining. Duncan was credited with a 14th-place result following the flip.

Armstrong and Duncan weren’t the only frontrunners to sustain issues on the fast track. Taylor Ferns, who battled for a spot on the podium for the most of the race, got into the wall with approximately six laps remaining. There were also a couple of other cars who flipped during the action-packed feature.

Chad Kemenah advanced from ninth to third place with Danny Smith placing fourth and Andrew Palker rounding out the top five.

Cole Duncan was fast qualifier for the 37-car field.

Other winners were Dave Pinkerton (modifieds), Harley Martin (sport mods) and Larry Highland (street stocks).

The finish:

Randy Hannagan, Brandon Wimmer, Chad Kemenah, Danny Smith, Andrew Palker, Caleb Helms, Dean Jacobs, Mike Terry Jr., Jesse McCreary, Mark Imler, Ronnie Blair, Josh Davis, Eddie Slone, Cole Duncan, Caleb Armstrong, Taylor Ferns, Jim Nier, Todd Kane, Wes McGlumphy, Bryan Sebetto, Nathan Skaggs, Travis Philo, Adam Strausser, Aaron Higgins.