Hagar Scores At Tennessee National


HOHENWALD, Tenn. – Defending United Sprint Car Series National champion Derek Hagar drove into victory lane at Tennessee National Raceway in the sprint car portion of the USCS Tennessee 200 on Saturday night.

It was Hagar’s 22nd career USCS sprint car win and cast him as the favorite to repeat as the USCS National Champion during the 18th annual United Sprint Car Series season. It was his second USCS win of the 2014 season in just two starts.

Hagar spent most of the first half of the race chasing 10-time series champion Terry Gray and polesitter Dalton Davis. Gray, who led the first 15 laps, looked to be in control until becoming entangled with a lapped car on lap 16 and spinning. He was able to recover after losing three positions.

That incident placed Davis in the lead with Hagar following. After an open red flag on lap 21 for Henry Gustavus’ flip in turn three, Davis assumed the lead. Hagar was the spoiler and made his winning pass exiting turn four just three laps later and charged to the finish line in first place.

Davis ended up second, followed by Danny Smith, Gray and Morgan Turpen.

The finish:

Derek Hagar, Dalton Davis, Danny Smith, Terry Gray, Morgan Turpen, Tim Crawley, Anthony Nicholson, Brandon Hanks, Eddie Gallagher, Jerod Roller, Ronny Howard, Tim Sites, Jim Perricone, Greg Merritt, Henry Gustavus, Jeff Willingham, Ray Bugg, Samantha Sites, Jake Roach, Don Ryder.