Hafertepe Is 360 Driver Of The Year

Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series champion Sam Hafertepe Jr. (Richard Bales Photo)

KNOXVILLE, Iowa — Sam Hafertepe Jr. was voted the 2018 Driver of the Year by the North American 360 Sprint Car Poll voting panel of media members, promoters, sanctioning officials and manufacturers for the second year in a row.

Hafertepe, the two-time and defending American Sprint Car Series national tour champion, earned 10 of the first-place ballots cast in the year-end poll. Hill’s Racing, owner for Hafertepe’s No. 15h earned the Team of the Year award as well.

Those drivers ranked second through fifth, respectively, are Seth Bergman of Washington, Wayne Johnson, Mark Smith and USCS champion Jordon Mallett.

Rounding out the top 10 for the season are Terry Gray, SCCT champion Kyle Hirst, Blake Hahn, Sammy Swindell and Andy Forsberg.

Mason Daniel earned the North American 360 Sprint Car Poll Rookie of the Year title in his first full season of winged 360-cubic-inch sprint car competition.

Jack & Bonnie Elam of J&J Auto Racing (for the 13th time) and Mark Smith of Mach-1 Chassis (second award) will share Builder/Manufacturer of the Year honors for the second year in a row.

In addition, Lonnie Wheatley (Dodge County Raceway Park/SprintCarMania.com) will receive the Media Member of the Year award for the fifth time. Emmett Hahn of the American Sprint Car Series received Promoter of the Year honors for the fifth time, and Gio Scelzi will receive the Wild Card Award in 2018 for his exciting performances in 360 sprint car racing.