Four Drivers Shine On Night Three In Tulsa

Jake Hagopian (14d) is one of four drivers who have qualified for three Tulsa Shootout features. (Richard Bales photo)

TULSA, Okla. — With Friday’s preliminary action pushing the 34th Lucas Oil Tulsa Shootout through race No. 225, the field of Golden Driller hopefuls is starting to take shape as four drivers are already locked into three championship events, with a dozen past champions in the mix.

Locking into both divisions of A-Class as well as Outlaw, California’s Jake Hagopian is joined by Delaware’s Kyle Spence on the three lock-in bracket with the Bear native scoring starting spots in Outlaw, Non-Wing Outlaw, and Stock Non-Wing.

A banner year for Nebraska’s Trey Gropp, the No. 54 will see action in Stock Non-Wing, A-Class, and Non-Wing Outlaw with Indiana’s Zeb Wise proving his worth in A-Class, Stock Non-Wing, and the pole of the Outlaw Non-Wing event.

Among the past champions in the field, a sum of 26 Golden Drillers is accounted for since 2001. Leading the win count is Blake Hahn who will look for his eighth win with a front row start in the Xcel 600cc Modified.

With four wins to his credit, Frank Flud will take the green in both Outlaw divisions with the night’s 55-lap finale going green at his pace. Brady Bacon with a trio of past wins will roll to the green in both Outlaw events. Jonathan Beason at two wins is locked into both Stock classes with his No. 36 gracing the pole of the Non-Wing feature.

Winning three Golden Drillers one year ago, Jason McDougal will have to fight a little more as the No. 73 holds a spot in Non-Wing Outlaw with a good shot at defending his 2018 triumph from the right of the pole positions. Chris Cochran (2013-Stock Non-Wing), Corey Day (2018-Restricted), Joe B. Miller (2017-Outlaw), Scott Sawyer (2006-A-Class), Shawn Wicker (2001-Sportsman), Tristan Guardino (2017-Non-Wing Outlaw), and Ty Hulsey (2017-ECOtec Midget) make up the list of former race winners.