Flud Wires POWRi Field In Wayne City

Frank Flud celebrates his POWRi win on Friday night. (POWRi photo)
Frank Flud celebrates his POWRi win on Friday night. (POWRi photo)
Frank Flud celebrates his POWRi win on Friday night. (POWRi photo)

WAYNE CITY, Ill. – Frank Flud ran away with all 30 laps of the $5,000 to Win Cornhusker Nationals, claiming his second POWRi Speedway Motors 600cc Outlaw Micro Series victory on Friday.

Dylan Kadous won the POWRi Speedway Motors 600cc Non-Wing feature at the 1/8th mile semi-banked Wayne County Speedway.

After driver introductions for the $5,000 to win Cornhusker Nationals, the front row consisting of Frank Flud of Pryor, Oklahoma and Kyle Schuett of Philo, Illinois would line up to lead the field to the green.

On the first restart, with Flud clearly out front and Nate Lauderbaugh trying his best to give chase, another opportunity for Benson would appear as he would take Schuett on the high-side. Just as the field appeared to be getting strung out, Flud would enter lap traffic, allowing Lauderbaugh and Nate Benson to inch closer.

When Flud led the field to the final restart with 16 to go, Andrew Peters’ Engler-injected Sawyer Chassis would power past Wirth on the high side and set its sights on Schuett, dispatching him going down the back stretch. Peters’ blistering pace now had him comfortably in the top three, but with no caution in sight, Peters would be unable to catch Lauderbaugh or Flud and would have to settle for the third position coming from 17th position. Coming in fourth was Layne Himebaugh and rounding out the top five was Joey Wirth.

The finish:

Frank Flud, Nate Lauderbaugh, Andrew Peters, Layne Himebaugh, Joey Wirth, Kyle Schuett, Dereck King, Todd Kirkman, Joe B. Miller, Aaron Andruskevitch, Jake Rosario, Jake Neuman, Scott Sawyer, Dylan Kadous, Jason Harms, Mike Hudson, Jimmy Wells, Jacob Patton, Ayrton Gennetten, Nathan Benson, Nicholas Howard, Matt Howard, Jeremy Camp, Blane Culp