Faccinto Flies To Stockton Glory

Michael Faccinto (Joe Shivak photo)

STOCKTON, Calif. — Michael Faccinto won the 20-lap Joe Hunt Magneto Series wingless sprint car feature at the Stockton Dirt Track on Friday night.

Faccinto led the entire distance after starting on the front row and bested Terry Shank Jr. and Jake Morgan.

Aboard the white No. 14 Pires Motorsports mount, the Hanford, Calif., non-winged ace picked up his third series victory of the season but had to survive a marathon race which lasted close to an hour and involved no less than four red-flag stoppages.

Those drivers involved in red flag accidents included Adam Teves, Troy DeGaton, Scott Hall and Cody Spencer.

Faccinto got the lead from pole sitter Shayna Silva on the backstretch of the opening lap. He survived a number of restarts and several challenges from second place runner Jake Morgan. But it was Morgan who faded with just a few laps remaining and was passed by Shank.

Jarret Soares, making a rare non-winged start, in a second Brian Sperry owned car who finished a respectable fourth just ahead of Shawn Jones.

Jason Solwold won the 25-lap 360 open competition feature over Tony Gualda and D.J. Netto.

The finish:

Michael Faccinto, Terry Shank, Jr., Jake Morgan, Jarret Soares, Shawn Jones, Angelique Bell, Tony Bernard, Adam Teves, Robert Floyd, Troy DeGaton, Scott Hall, Bob Newberry, A.J. Alderman, Cody Spencer, Kevin Box, Brandon Burd, Shayna Silva, Justin Funkhouser, Ryon Siverling, Kaimi Moniz-Costa