Ely Posts Last-Lap URC Victory


WINCHESTER, Va. — Dave Ely won a thriller Saturday night at the Winchester Speedway, taking the lead on the final lap from J.J. Grasso to win his first Rislone URC Sprint Series feature of the season and his 14th career URC win.

In the late stages of the 25-lap feature Ely and Brian Carber caught polesitter Grasso. And challenged for the top spot.

On the final lap, Ely took the low groove and made the pass for the lead as Carber passed Grasso on the high lane. Carber took a run at Ely but ran short of time, earning an impressive second place finish for the nineteen year old in just his sixth career URC start.

At the drop of the green flag in the feature event, Grasso immediately set the pace followed by Dave Ely and Josh Weller. The one and only caution of the night was displayed on lap two for Jimmy Stitzel who spun in turn two. On the restart, Grasso again set the pace, maintaining a several car length lead over Ely, Weller and Brian Carber.

Kramer Williamson was enjoying a good run, moving into fifth by lap eight. As the field passed for the halfway sign, Grasso was the leader followed by Ely, Weller, Carber and Davie Franek.

Lapped cars soon became a challenge and Ely used that to his advantage to reel in Grasso, driving the Eldreth Construction sprint car. As Ely closed in on Grasso, Brian Carber was setting up to challenge the two frontrunners. On lap 21, Ely and Carber caught Grasso and the battle for the win was developing.

Ely worked the inside groove as Grasso and Carber were on the top lane. With the white flag waiving, Ely passed Grasso on the homestretch to take the lead. At the same time, Carber passed Grasso and set-up for a run at Ely. Carber ran short of time finishing a close second to Ely. Grasso finished third followed by Josh Weller and Chad Trout.

The finish:

Dave Ely, Brian Carber, J.J. Grasso, Josh Weller, Chad Trout, Robbie Stillwaggon, Davie Franek, Kevin Darling, Tim Kelly, Kramer Williamson, Art Liedl, Keith Prutzman, Curt Michael, Troy Betts, Jimmy Stitzel, Randy West, Scott Lutz, Dan Mazy, Steve Towns, Jonathan Swanson, Cameron Darling, John Cameron.



Previous articleRyan Unzicker Unbeatable At Fairbury
Next articleHemric Completes Southern LM Sweep
SPEEDSPORT.com is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.