Dominant Scelzi Rules Kern County Go

Dominic Scelzi leads the way in the Western rankings. (Joe Shivak photo)

BAKERSFIELD, Calif. — Dominic Scelzi won the 30-lap King of the West-NARC Fujitsu Racing Series feature at the Dirt Track at Kern County Raceway on Saturday night.

The Fresno, Calif., ace led the feature from flag to flag in his Roth Motorsports No. 83 JR and pocketed $4,000 for his efforts.

Two-time KWS Kern County winner from last year Shane Golobic dogged Scelzi the entire distance but had to settle for the runner up spot  Chase Johnson brought the Thomas Family Racing No. 68 home in the third position after a long battle with Ryan Bernal who would finish fourth just ahead of D.J. Netto.

The duo of Scelzi and Golobic brought the 23-car starting field to the green flag with Scelzi quickly jumping out front. The race would only go three laps before a multi car shunt coming out of the second turn resulted in a Jenna Frazier flip bringing out the red flag. The Sacramento, California driver escaped injury but her badly damaged racer had to be towed back to the pit area.  The wreck also ended the night for J.J. Ringo.

Soon after the cars were refired, the night’s fast qualifer and fourth-place starter Willie Croft pitted and rejoined the tail of the field.

Scelzi and Golobic put on quite a show working lapped traffic but it was Johnson who was advancing forward having picked off Sean Watts, Netto and Bernal and was running in the third spot by the 20th circuit.

Golobic was able to get to the Scelzi’s rear bumper but that was as strong a challenge as the wilily veteran would muster.

It looked like a caution would come out for a spinning Mitchell Faccinto but his No. 37 ended up far enough off the track in turn 1 that the race stayed green. It wasn’t until lap 26 when the yellow lights would come on for a turn 1 spin by Jeremy Chisum.

Scelzi took advantage of a clear track to make the four-lap dash to the final checkered, taking the win over Golobic.

The finish:

Dominic Scelzi, Shane Golobic, Chase Johnson, Ryan Bernal, D.J. Netto, Gio Scelzi, Bud Kaeding, Kyle Offill, Geoff Ensign, Scott Parker, Sean Watts, Jace VanderWeed, Willie Croft, Landon Hurst, Nathan Rolfe, Mark Barroso, Jeremy Chisum, Tim Estenson, Kenny Allen, Mitchell Faccinto, J.J. Ringo, Jenna Frazier, Stephen Ingraham