Dewease Does It Again At Port Royal

Lance Dewease (69k) works traffic en route to victory at Port Royal Speedway. (Dan Demarco photo)

PORT ROYAL, Pa. — Lance Dewease made it back-to-back victories in the Port Royal Speedway Keith Kauffman Classic for the Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions sprint cars Saturday night, scoring $5,000 for the victory over the touring invaders.

For Dewease, at the wheel of the Kreitz No. 69K, the win marked his fifth in a row in All Star competition at Port Royal, dating back to Sept. 10, 2016.

The win was also the 37th of Dewease’s career while racing with the All Stars as a series, tying him with Steve Kinser, Doug Wolfgang and Danny Lasoski on the All Stars all time win list.

Also at the track on Saturday night, in the 25-lap kickoff of the Moon Shine Camo Rt. 35 Dirt Late Model Challenge Series, Jeff Rine dominated to pick up the $2,200 payday which was his second of the year at the track.

The initial start of the 30-lap Kauffman Classic for sprint cars was red flagged when Dave Blaney spun in the third turn, collecting T.J. Stutts, who flipped.

Prior to the stoppage, polesitter Steve Buckwalter had taken the lead.

On the restart, second starter Anthony Macri got the best of Buckwalter and took control.

Macri entered the backmarkers on the seventh tour with Buckwalter, Aaron Reutzel, Greg Hodnett and Dewease in tow.
Reutzel was blasting the top around the speedway and motored into second with nine away at the same time as Dewease began advancing, taking fourth from Hodnett on the 10th circuit.

A lap later and Dewease was up to third while Reutzel worked on Macri for the lead, which he took by .02 seconds at the line as the pair drag raced to the line on the 12th lap.

Lance Dewease in victory lane at Port Royal Speedway. (Dan Demarco photo)

And then just as Dewease was alongside Macri for second working on lap 13, Trey Starks came up with a flat right rear tire in the first turn, causing the caution flag to unfurl.

Reutzel blasted away on the restart as Dewease again worked on Macri for second but before he could get the spot, Dave Blaney spun in the first turn, forcing another yellow flag that turned red for refueling.

The stoppage and a chance to work on the car was all that Dewease’s team needed as he motored by Macri for second at the new green before giving chase of Reutzel.

Around the high side went Reutzel lap after lap as Dewease chugged the low line and worked his way up on to the leader with 10 laps to go.

With nine laps remaining, Dewease blasted the low line into the third turn and came up off of the fourth corner with the lead.

However, Reutzel stayed close enough as the leaders worked traffic to be sure and keep Dewease honest to the finish.

The winning margin was 2.149 seconds for Dewease.

“If it wasn’t for the red, Aaron was gonna’ win that race,” said Dewease in victory lane. “He was the best car at that point.”

Macri rode home third followed by Buckwalter and Hodnett.

The finish:

Lance Dewease, Aaron Reutzel, Anthony Macri, Steve Buckwalter, Greg Hodnett, Mike Wagner, Dylan Cisney, Ryan Smith, Daryn Pittman, Ryan Taylor, Danny Dietrich, Lucas Wolfe, Logan Wagner, Paul McMahan, Brock Zearfoss, Blane Heimbach, Cale Conley, Gerard McINtyre, Dave Blaney, Coleman Gulick, Chad Kemenah, Parker Price-Miller, John Garvin, Jac Haudenschild, Tim Shaffer, Trey Starks, Aaron Ott, T.J. Stutts.