Details & Roster For Southern Sprint Car Shootout Return


PINELLAS PARK, Fla. – BG Southern Sprint Car Shootout Series officials have released details regarding Saturday’s BG Platinum 44k sprint car event at Showtime Speedway.

The SSSS event will also include the COVID-119 super late model race. The events will be part of two nights of racing and will include support classes and an outlaw late model Figure 8 event on Friday night, May 8.

No fans will be allowed to attend these events, per current Florida state regulations, but a pay-per-view stream will be available through Low Budget TV, a member of the SPEED SPORT Network.

The series will be returning to racing action after a two-month hiatus due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The event is being called the BG Platinum 44k, recognizing series sponsor BG Products Platinum 44k Fuel System Cleaner.

The winged warriors will battle it out for 44-laps. No heat races are planned. The series will use single-car qualifications to set the field for the feature event later that night.

Saturday will mark only the second time the series has used single-car qualifications in the past two seasons.

The event will also carry historic significance. It will be the first known time that a major pavement sprint car series has staged a race with no fans in attendance.

A strong field of cars is expected for the event. Series point leader Troy DeCaire has been the man to beat of late, having won all three SSSS events contested in 2020, including the most recent March 7 event at Citrus County Speedway in Inverness, Fla.

The driver roster has been slightly retooled since the last event on March 7. Daniel Miller will be in the PCS Racing No. 5, while as announced earlier this week, Carlie Yent will make her first series appearance in more than two years.

In addition, 2017 series champion John Inman will return to wheel his own No. 59 Diablo Chassis entry.

Visit www.LowBudget.TV for the pay-per-view options to view this weekend’s events at Showtime Speedway.

Expected “BG Platinum 44k” entries

J1 – Michael Tharp – Ft. Meyers, Fla.
2 – Carlie Yent – Tampa, Fla.
4 – Travis Bliemeister – Venice, Fla.
5 – Daniel Miller – Tavaras, Fla.
5s – Tommy Nichols – Plant City, Fla.
9 – Bill Pettijohn
11 – Joey Aguilar – Tampa, Fla.
36 – Troy DeCaire – Tampa, Fla.
44 – Gary Wiggins – Cape Coral, Fla.
59x – John Inman – Dover, Fla.
67 Scotty Adema – Ft. Meyers, Fla.
88 – LJ Grimm – Seffner, Fla.
88A Sport Allen – Pinellas Park, Fla.
92 – Ryan Adema – Ft. Meyers, Fla.

555 – Dylan Reynolds – Leesburg, Fl.a