Dave Blaney Conquers Hagerstown

Dave Blaney, seen here at Volusia Speedway Park in February, won Wednesday night's Pennsylvania Speedweek feature at Hagerstown (Md.) Speedway. (Julia Johnson Photo)
Dave Blaney, seen here at Volusia Speedway Park in February, won Wednesday night’s Pennsylvania Speedweek feature at Hagerstown (Md.) Speedway. (Julia Johnson Photo)

HAGERSTOWN, Md. — Dave Blaney returned to his roots Wednesay night and won the sprint car feature during the 23rd annual Pennsylvania Sprint Speedweek at Hagerstown Speedway.

The 1995 World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series champion became the 30th different winner in Speedweek history, earning $5,000.

“I’m proud of it (winning),” Blaney said. “This is cool, to come and beat these guys, they’re so good in this area. We had the money spot to start and the car was good enough to hang on. We looked really bad in Ohio Speedweek and we took it home and made some changes and wanted to come over here. The track is so nice all the time and it’s good to race on and we thought we could learn a lot and have fun. “

Blaney timed fifth quick of the 30 entries, but after Logan Schuchart didn’t qualify, Blaney had the pole position in the four car invert with Danny Lasoski sitting alongside while Sam Hafertepe Jr. and quick timer Mike Wagner were in row two.

When the green flag dropped, Blaney pulled ahead of Lasoski while the third row of Greg Hodnett and Lance Dewease quickly grabbed the third and fourth spots over Hafertepe.

Blaney wasn’t having any problems keeping a one and a half second lead when he started through the rear of the field on the 12th lap as Lasoski and Hodnett quickly closed in and were running a length apart.

Blaney was still maintaining traffic control when Robbie Kendall spun on the 22nd lap as Dewease went around Hodnett to grab third from Hodnett following the restart. Dewease charged alongside Lasoski but the caution came out the following lap when Donnie Kreitz spun.

Blaney wasn’t shaking Lasoski over the final laps as he stormed off the final turn just a length ahead of Lasoski and Dewease while Hodnett and Fred Rahmer who had closed from 11th in the waning laps were next.

Blaney said, “I could hear their motors running back there so I didn’t know where to run, whether to block a little bit, so I went with where I thought was best and hung on and it worked out.”

Wagner rounded the track with fast time of 16.174 seconds.

The finish:

Dave Blaney, Danny Lasoski, Lance Dewease, Greg Hodnett, Fred Rahmer, Logan Schuchart, Mike Wagner, Blane Heimbach, T.J.Stutts, Sam Hafertepe Jr., Brent Marks, Danny Dietrich, Stevie Smith, Cory Haas, Keith Kauffman, Aaron Ott, Jacob Allen. Rodney Westhafer, Donnie Kreitz Jr., Darren Mollenoyux, Eric Riggins Jr., Joey Hershey, Robbie Kendall, Brady Bacon.