Darling Enjoys New Egypt Run


NEW EGYPT, N.J. — Kevin Darling enjoyed a great night at the New Egypt Speedway on Saturday night winning the 25-lap Rislone URC Sprint Series feature event.

Darling earned the victory and collected $2,000 for the first-place prize. Darling also was a heat race winner and earned an additional $50 for setting fast time of the night.

Darling took immediate control of the lead with Randy West maintaining a close second as Dan Mazy and Art Liedl followed with Davie Franek making up the top five. At numerous times throughout the race, West would catch the leader but with each challenge, Darling managed to hold him off.

On lap 10, the one and only caution of the night was displayed for defending champion and current point leader Robbie Stillwaggon. A flat tire sent Stillwaggon to the pits ending his chances to challenge for the win.

The green flag dropped to restart the race and Darling, West and Franek were the top three. West once again took a run for the lead but Darling again fought back to hold the top spot.

At the halfway point of the race, Darling, West, Franek, Dan Mazy and Art Liedl were the top five with J.J. Grasso, driving the Eldreth Construction sprinter to the sixth spot.

With the race going caution free since lap 10, the leaders were now in lapped traffic and once again West moved in on Darling to offer a challenge for the lead. Darling again kept solid control of the lead.

For the final five laps, Darling was not going to shake West as Franek began catching the leaders. With two laps to go, West again offered a run at the lead but again, Darling prevailed.

For the final lap, West pulled wheel-to-wheel with Darling in turns one and two. For the run down the backstretch, Darling held the top spot. Charging off turn four, Darling took the low lane as West when to the high side of the speedway. With the checkered flag waving, Darling took the win with West second, Franek third, Grasso fourth and Liedl fifth.

The finish:

Kevin Darling, Randy West, Davie Franek, J.J. Grasso, Art Liedl, Brian Carber, Dan Mazy, Tim Kelly, Josh Weller, Ed Aikin, Troy Betts, Joe Zuczek, Jimmy Stitzel, Keith Prutzman, Jonathan Swanson, Andy Best, Steve Downs, Scott Lutz, J.R. Berry, Jeff Fifthian, Robbie Stillwaggon, Cameron Darling, David Swanson.