Crawley Back On Top In USCS Sprints

Tim Crawley in victory lane at Greenville (Miss.) Speedway. (Jacob Seelman photo)
Tim Crawley in victory lane at Greenville (Miss.) Speedway. (Jacob Seelman photo)
Tim Crawley in victory lane at Greenville (Miss.) Speedway. (Jacob Seelman photo)

GREENVILLE, Miss. — One night after he was outrun at one of his best race tracks, Tim Crawley put himself back on top.

Crawley, the 2012 United Sprint Car Series filtercharged by K&N champion from Benton, Arkansas, blasted away from the K&N Filters Pole Position and held off a late-race charge from Mississippi hotshoe Michael Miller to win his second straight Ellis Palasini Black Widow Classic at Greenville Speedway during Saturday night’s 30-lap finale.

The victory was Crawley’s 71st career USCS feaure win and sixth series win of 2014. Crawley has now won six of the last seven USCS features he has entered and six of the last 10 USCS races overall.

“We had the rain on Friday night and the track was pretty heavy then, but tonight it was way more like it normally is for us,” Crawley said. “There at the end I could hear (Miller) up top there and I’d have moved up in about one more lap. Sometimes when you’re riding out front there you can’t tell what’s going on behind you, but I had already seen Miller up high on that first run and I figured it was him. One more lap we’d have made a race out of it, but we hung on for this one tonight.”

Miller made a valiant charge on the extreme high line of the race track to close within two seconds of Crawley in the final twelve laps, but ran out of time to make a challenge for the win and had to settle for second.

“Man, I tell you what, Wesley and the staff here at Greenville did a fine job tonight; complete 180 from how this track was Friday night. This is the Greenville that I’m accustomed to,” Miller explained. “To run (second) behind Crawley, it’s amazing; he’s a super driver. It’s just an honor to get to see the 88 and not be getting lapped. I’m ecstatic tonight.”

Behind Crawley and Miller, Morgan Turpen rounded out the podium in third. Friday night’s Greenville winner Anthony Nicholson finished fourth and 10-time USCS champion Terry Gray was fifth.

The finish:

Tim Crawley, Michael Miller, Morgan Turpen, Anthony Nicholson, Terry Gray, Jerod Roller, Ronny Howard, Klint Angellette, Shane Morgan, Jeff Willingham, Terry Witherspoon, Brett McMillen, Greg Merritt.