Competitive Season Ahead For IRA Sprints


MCHENRY, Ill. — While weather has played havoc with the season-opening event for the Bumper to Bumper IRA Outlaw Sprint Series, both fans and drivers are chomping at the bit to get the season underway with the level of competition within the series expected to be at an all-time high.

The series once again has a strong core group expected to contest a good portion of the schedule, numerous have won IRA A-main events over the years.

These include event winners include Mike Reinke, Jim Moughan, Scotty Neitzel, Scott Young, Scott Biertzer, Scott Uttech, Darrell Dodd, Travis Whitney, Bill Balog, Todd Daun, Todd King, John Haeni, Dennis Spitz, Raymond Hensley, Mike Kertscher, Tommy Sexton, Steve Meyer and Bill Warren.

John Serrnett and Brooke Tatnell are IRA winners expected to support the series at some of its northern dates.

Numerous champions are part of the roster, including Balog 2008-2012, Whitney 2006-2007, Neitzel 2004-2005, Haeni 2002 and Dodd 1979 & 1987-1988.

IRA loyalists and perennial top 10 point drivers Dave Uttech, Bill Wirth, and Modjeski have led many IRA A-main laps, and are hungry to score their first Bumper to Bumper IRA Outlaw Sprint Series victory. It’s easy to add Phillip Mock, Russel Borland, Robbie Pribnow and Kris Spitz to that list new A-main winners this season.

Add to that a number of former series regulars like Scott Young, Steve Meyer, Todd Daun, and Raymond Hensley expecting to compete more frequently this year and the series drivers’ roster becomes increasingly impressive.

Past IRA regular Nick Alden plans on rejoining the tour regularly, and both Jereme Schroeder and Alan Hafford are aiming at the 75-percent participation target, too.

The battle for the rookie of the year title will have a new level of excitement in 2013 as the series is blessed with a trio of drivers with proven talent that will be aiming for the honor. Lance Fassbender and Jeremy Schultz are recent MSA 360 Sprint champions while Bryon Walters steps up to eight cylinders after spending years in midget ranks.

Balog the defending series champion is not running for the championship, however, he has 22 nights on his schedule, so he’ll be around plenty.

The season opens April 27 at Beaver Dam Raceway.