Chase Briscoe Bags First MOWA Sprint Win

Chase Briscoe won last Saturday's Built Ford Tough MOWA Sprint Car Series at Tri-State Speedway. (Neil Cavanah Photo)

HAUBSTADT, Ind. – Chase Briscoe overtook Cory Bruns at the halfway point of the 25-lap feature and never looked back, scoring his first victory with the Built Ford Tough MOWA Sprint Car Series Delivered By Morrow Brothers Ford Saturday at Tri-State Speedway.

Unpredicted storms made their way to Southern Indiana, forcing the start of the program to be pushed back nearly two hours. As the rain fell, track workers spent time working in the racing surface to prepare for the night of racing.

Due to the delay in the program, qualifying was scratched and the event used the passing points format. Carson Short, Kody Kinser and Briscoe were the winners of the three heat races.

The top 16 drivers in passing points were locked into the A-Main, setting up a nine-car B-Main, taking the top-four finishers to fill the remaining positions in the feature. Chase Stockon won the B-Main while Jason Keith, Chris Urish and Jacob Patton also advanced to the feature.

Cory Bruns and Paul Hart led the field to the green flag, with Bruns getting the jump on the field. A caution for Trey Datweiler, who started 10th, bunched the field back up for a restart. Datweiler retired early following his spin.

Briscoe, who started fourth, had quickly advanced forward to second behind leader Bruns, who led the field back to the green. Bruns continued to lead until reaching lapped traffic, when he jumped above the cushion in turns three and four, allowing Briscoe to capitalize on the error at the halfway mark of the race.

Briscoe led the remaining laps to win his first MOWA Sprint Car Series win over Bruns, Short, Critter Malone and Justin Peck.

The finish:

Chase Briscoe, Cory Bruns, Carson Short, Critter Malone, Justin Peck, Mike Terry, Chase Stockon, Kendall Ruble, Jay Waugh, Kody Kinser, Jason Keith, Brayden Fox, Jimmy Mough, Brinton Marvel, Steve Short, Jacob Patton, Chris Urish, Jimmy Bridgeman, Paul Hart, Trey Datweiler.