Carson McCarl Wins At Oskaloosa


OSKALOOSA, Iowa — Carson McCarl, driving the Mastell Brothers Trailer Service No. 27 was awarded his first Sprint Invaders feature victory Wednesday night after post-race inspection of Jonathan Cornell’s top wing deemed it illegal at Southern Iowa Speedway.

The incident came after a thrilling duel between the two young drivers that featured four lead changes on the half-mile.

McCarl shot to the point from his starting position on the pole to open the 20-lap main event with Sedalia, Missouri’s Cornell in pursuit in the Kiowa Line Builders #28. The leader entered heavy lapped traffic on lap eight, and Cornell shot by to the point using the cushion.

At the halfway point, Cornell led McCarl, Jon Agan, Russ Hall and Matt Moro. While Cornell rode the cushion a stream of rubber started to form in turns one and two, and McCarl found it. On lap 16, he darted under Cornell to take the lead back. With traffic approaching again, Cornell corrected his line and used a lapped car to retake the lead for good.

Cornell crossed first, followed by McCarl, who held off Agan in another good battle. Hall was sidelined with two laps to go with a broken power steering line. Moro crossed fourth ahead of Jarrod Schneiderman. Mike Houseman Jr., hard-charger Ian Madsen, Tasker Phillips, Tony Shilling and Josh Schneiderman rounded out the top 10.

“Obviously, I had no idea the rubber was coming in,” said Cornell. “We made a few changes and tightened it up for the feature. When he passed me, I thought it was over and I’d have to tuck in behind him. We got him again in lapped traffic. It seemed our car was working a little better in lapped traffic. These Ostrich Racing engines are the best around.”

“I had a lot of fun,” said McCarl. “I got the jump and got the lead. I really couldn’t figure out (turn) one. I just kept hitting that hole. I tried going above and below it. He caught me when I tried to get under a lapped car there. I really found that rubber with about four laps to go and got by him. Unfortunately, we got stuck behind lapped cars and I wanted to make him go around me. Unfortunately, that’s what he did.”

Unfortunately, Cornell was disqualified post-race for additions to the underside of the center panel at the rear of the top wing. “I didn’t know it was illegal with the Sprint Invaders,” he said. “We have another wing here we would have used if we’d have known that.”

The finish:

Carson McCarl, Jon Agan, Matt Moro, Jarrod Schneiderman, Mike Houseman Jr., Ian Madsen, Tasker Phillips, Tony Shilling, Josh Schneiderman, Bret Tripplett, Bobby Mincer, Mitchell Alexander, Tim Moore, Kelly Graham, Collins, Russ Hall, Jimmy Davies, Dave Getchell, Wayne Johnson, Jonathan Cornell, C.J. Houseman.