Bud Kaeding Conquers Ocean Sprinters

Bud Kaeding won Friday night's 360 sprint car feature at Ocean Speedway. (Joe Shivak photo)

WATSONVILLE, Calif. — Bud Kaeding won the 30-lap Taco Bravo 360 sprint car series event at the Ocean Speedway on Friday night.

Kaeding, aboard the Williams Motorsports No. 0, took the lead from polesitter Cole Macedo on the fifth lap and cruised to a deceive win at the Santa Cruz County Fairgrounds dirt oval.

Macedo’s black No. 21x held off a fierce challenge from perennial Ocean favorite Justin Sanders to claim his best series finish. Kyle Offill and Brad Furr rounded out the top five.

Macedo and Kaeding brought the 16-car field down for the start. The young Lemoore , California driver was able to hold off the veteran Kaeding for the first five circuits. But a bobble coming out of the second turn allowed the white No. 0 to pass Macedo’s Tarlton Motorsports mount.


A big wreck in turn four on lap nine stopped the event. Mathew Moles and Kurt Nelson spun around with both cars facing the wrong direction and contact from Tucker Worth sent his No. 33 flipping on its side. Jason Chisum piled into the cars before he could slow down.  Moles and Worth were both finished for the night as Nelson was able to pit and make repairs.

On the restart and with a clear track, Kaeding clicked off some of the fastest laps of the race while Macedo and Sanders were dueling for the second spot. The race remained green with Kaeding crossing the finish line with a comfortable margin of almost three seconds.

The finish:

Bud Kaeding, Cole Macedo, Justin Sanders, Kyle Offill, Brad Furr, Koen Shaw, Nathan Rolfe, Kurt Nelson, Jeremy Chisum, Danny Malfatti, Jason Chisum, Richard Fajardo, Ryon Nelson, Mathew Moles, Tucker Worth, Kyler Shaw