It’s Brooke Tatnell On Night One Of The Classic


WAARNAMBOOL, Australia — Brooke Tatnell made a return to form on night one of the 45th Lucas Oil Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic at Premier Speedway on Friday.

Tatnell started on the front row of the 30-lap feature alongside Americna Brad Sweet, with Tatnell taking the early lead. Sweet continued to chase Tatnell until lap 14 when he was able to take the race lead for the first time.

Sweet’s lead didn’t last long as moments later he suddenly slowed at the exit of turn two, allowing Tatnell to blow right back by him to take the lead and pull away to the victory in the 30-lap feature.

Sweet was able to hang tough for second while Kerry Madsen finished third. Grant Anderson finished fourth, followed by young American Carson Macedo in fifth.

Kyle Hirst, the 2015 winner of the Classic, was sixth. David Murcott, Jordyn Brazier, Ben Atkinson and American Brian Brown completed the top 10.

Madsen set quick time for the 52-car field earlier in the evening. Madsen, Tatnell, Sweet and Steven Lines won the first set of heat races. The second set of heat races went to Jackson Delamont, Braydon Willmington, Peter Milnes and Ben Atkinson.

Mark House won the C-Main and Luke Oldfield captured the B-Main.


The finish:

Brooke Tatnell, Brad Sweet, Kerry Madsen, Grant Anderson, Carson Macedo, Kyle Hirst, David Murcott, Jordyn Brazier, Ben Atkinson, Brian Brown, Lachlan McHugh, Corey McCullagh, Ian Loudoun, Tim Rankin, Jack Lee, Jackson Delamont, Charles Hunter, John Vogels, Jake Tranter, Luke Oldfield, Craig Vanderstelt, Bryan Mann, Steven Lines, Daniel Harding.