Brian Brown Crowned Mr. Sprint Car

Brian Brown
Brian Brown (21) races Daryn Pittman during the 57th Knoxville Nationals on Saturday. (Dick Ayers Photo)

KNOXVILLE, Iowa – Brian Brown was awarded with the Jesse Hockett Mr. Sprint Car Award Saturday night at the 57th annual 5-hour Energy Knoxville Nationals presented by Casey’s General Stores.

The Grain Valley, Mo., driver had a consistent fortnight that was topped with a win in the Capitani Classic at Knoxville, a second place finish in the Knoxville 360 Nationals and a sixth-place finish Saturday night in the Knoxville Nationals finale.

Brown also won the Mr. Sprint Car title in 2014.

Greg Hodnett remained consistent as well.  The Spring Grove, Pa., driver picked up a preliminary win in the 360 Nationals. Brad Sweet was consistently in the top five in 410 action, and rounded out the top three in the final standings.

The Jesse Hockett Mr. Sprint Car Award is supported by the Knoxville Raceway, the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame & Museum and the Front Row Challenge/TMAC Promotions.

Final 2017 Jesse Hockett Mr. Sprint Car top-10 standings:

1. Brian Brown, Missouri, 332 points; 2. Greg Hodnett, Pennsylvania, 261 points; 3. Brad Sweet, California, 238 points; 4. Ian Madsen, New South Wales, 236 points; 5. Trey Starks, Washington, 218 points; 6. (tie) Cory Eliason, California, 198 points; 6. (tie) Tim Shaffer, Pennsylvania, 198 points; 8. Thomas Kennedy, Manitoba, 190 points; 9. (tie) Kerry Madsen, New South Wales, 182 points; 9. (tie) Shane Stewart, Oklahoma, 182 points.