Blaney Adds Another All Star Victory

Dale Blaney

CHILLICOTHE, Ohio — Dale Blaney just keeps chugging along.

After winning four races in six nights during Ohio Speedweek, Blaney added another UNOH All Star Circuit of Champions sprint car victory Thursday night at Atomic Speedway.

For a time, it appeared Tim Shaffer would extinguish the Blaney hot streak in the 410 sprint main, but the traditional low-rider used multiple grooves to swoop past third place Travis Philo, then after a three-lap tango make Shaffer his victim.

Shaffer had started on the pole and had easy sailing until lapped traffic became a factor just past the first one-third of the race. Travis Philo began to reel in Shaffer and challenged for the lead on multiple occasions. Chad Kenemah had an early burst of speed on the bottom of the track, but ran out of moisture in what looked to be a charge to the front.

Outside polesitter Danny Holtgraver anchored down a top four, at one point dropping out of the chase before surging back at the midway mark to challenge Philo for third. After Blaney waltzed past Philo the trio passed the flagstand under a blanket in 1-2-3 fashion.

Blaney dove low past Shaffer into turn one and Shaffer came back with cross-over move, only to have the speeding Blaney make his final pass on the backchute for the lead and eventual win.

“Tony (Kennedy) and George (Fisher) make my job easy,” said Blaney. “I just go out and drive. The car was flawless tonight.  I got a pretty good start and just kept up my momentum.  We are really good on momentum tracks right now.”

“We would have liked to have won,” said Shaffer. “But Dale is in a groove.  We had a good car, but he was a little better tonight.  This is a good run for our team…I just wish we could have figured out a way to win it.”

Travis Philo, Holtgraver and Lee Jacobs filled the top five.

Local star Greggie Oliver brought home the $5,000 win in the Gullion Enterprises AMRA Late Model 40-lap event. Dan Ebert claimed the 20-lap AMRA Advanced Services Octane Modified feature.

The finish:

Dale Blaney, Tim Shaffer, Travis Philo, Danny Holtgraver, Lee Jacobs, Cole Duncan, Chad Kemenah, Danny Smith, Jimmy Stinson, Kory Crabtree, Nathan Skaggs, Eddie Slone, Taylor Ferns, Jac Haudenschild, Caleb Helms, Andrew Palker, Josh Davis, Jimmy Light, Sam Ashworth, Aaron Higgins, Todd Kane, Mark Imler, Jack Lee, Ryan Broughton.