Balog Is Still The Man In IRA Sprints


FRANCIS CREEK, Wis. — Four-time and defending Bumper to Bumper IRA Outlaw Sprint champion Billy Balog served notice to the competition that his sights are firmly set on title number five as he took advantage of an outside front row feature starting position and ran away from the field en route to a convincing victory at 141 Speedway.

Last season’s point runner-up Mike Reinke was the only driver close to matching Balog’s pace. Reinke, however, who had started in the fourth position was never able to dispose of lapped traffic quickly enough to have a clear shot at running down Balog who always managed to keep lapped cars between himself and Reinke to the checkered flag.

Third-place runner Jeremy Schultz turned in a solid performance this evening with the IRA Sprints.

Schultz a regular competitor on the 360 circuit turned in the evening’s second quickest qualifying lap and then proceeded to stay near the front of the pack the entire feature distance claiming third place.

Bill Warren and Dave Uttecht completed the top five.

The finish:

Billy Balog, Mike Reinke, Jeremy Schultz, Bill Warren, Dave Uttecht, Russell Borland, Bill Wirth, Scotty Neitzel, Brandon Thone, Scott Young, Robby Pribenow, Tommy Sexton, Ken Jay Feidler, Todd King, Scotty Thiel, Matt Vandervere, Blake Nimee, Phillip Mock, Kris Spitz, Paul Pokorski, Mike Kertscher, Scotty Biertzer.



Previous articleCovington Conquers Devil’s Bowl
Next articleKenseth Inherits First PASS Victory is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.