All Stars Set To Tackle Ohio Sprint Speedweek

Ohio Sprint Speedweek
Tim Shaffer (49) races to the inside of Dave Blaney during 2018 Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions action at Waynesfield Raceway Park. (Todd Ridgeway photo)

BROWNSBURG, Ind. – Arguably the most demanding schedule in all of sprint car racing, the 37th edition of Cometic Gasket Ohio Sprint Speedweek presented by Indy Metal Finishing will kick into high gear on June 14.

The Speedweek schedule features nine straight days of Ollie’s Bargain Outlet All Star Circuit of Champions presented by Mobil 1 competition throughout much of the Buckeye State.

Speedweek travelers will visit eight tracks during their grueling, nine-day trek across Ohio, each of which awarding a minimum top prize of $5,000.

Cometic Gasket Ohio Sprint Speedweek presented by Indy Metal Finishing will blast off at Attica Raceway Park on Friday, June 14.

The schedule will continue with appearances at Eldora Speedway in Rossburg on Saturday, June 15; Muskingum County Speedway in Zanesville on Sunday, June 16; Wayne County Speedway in Orrville on Monday, June 17; Sharon Speedway in Hartford on Tuesday, June 18; Atomic Speedway near Chillicothe on Wednesday, June 19; Mansfield Motor Speedway in Mansfield on Thursday, June 20; Limaland Motorsports Park in Lima on Friday, June 21; and once more at Wayne County Speedway on Saturday, June 22.

The 2019 Speedweek finale will award a $10,000 top prize.

In addition, Ohio Sprint Speedweek competitors will also vie for an $11,000 point fund spread among the top ten competitors in the final Speedweek standings. The 2019 Speedweek champion will pocket a $4,000 share of the $11,000 fund.

Cometic Gasket, the official gasket of the Ollie’s Bargain Outlet All Star Circuit of Champions presented by Mobil 1, will once again return as the title sponsor of Ohio Sprint Speedweek in 2019.

The agreement extends Cometic’s relationship with one of the sport’s most historic, yet grueling traditions to five consecutive seasons.

“We have been waiting for this week since its conclusion in 2018. A racing tradition rich in history, as well as competitiveness, we are more than proud to extend our relationship with Ohio Sprint Speedweek,” said Bob Gorman, the founder and CEO of Cometic Gasket Inc. “This is not only an exciting time for all of us at Cometic Gasket, but for everyone associated with sprint car racing in the state of Ohio. We are more than ready to get Speedweek underway.”

Indy Metal Finishing, a nationally-leading metal finishing service headquartered in Brownsburg, Ind., will join Ohio Sprint Speedweek in 2019 as the official presenting sponsor, pushing the open wheel spectacle to the level that it is today.

“We are honored to be a part of such an historic event like Ohio Sprint Speedweek,” said Carly Lawrence, President of Indy Metal Finishing. “Supporting an event like this allows Indy Metal Finishing the opportunity to reach a new demographic within our consumer market. Our goal is to expose Indy Metal Finishing’s capabilities to not only individual racers and their teams, but also to its loyal and dedicated fanbase.

“We are very excited for action to get underway.”

In order to be eligible for the Cometic Gasket Ohio Sprint Speedweek presented by Indy Metal Finishing championship points fund, participating teams must have perfect Speedweek attendance, entering all contested Speedweek programs throughout the nine-day schedule.

In addition, team owners must enter at least half of the contested Speedweek events with the same driver.

Hoosier Tire, the official tire of the All Star Circuit of Champions, will award one tire certificate to each of the top 10 drivers in the final Ohio Sprint Speedweek point standings.

Those who can not make the journey to Ohio for the 37th edition of Ohio Sprint Speedweek will still have the opportunity to witness most of the action from the comfort of their own homes.

Speed Shift TV, the official online broadcast partner of the All Star Circuit of Champions, will broadcast eight of the nine events on the 2019 Speedweek schedule.

Kicking off Friday night at Attica Raceway Park, Speed Shift TV will broadcast competition conducted at Attica, Eldora Speedway, Wayne County Speedway, Sharon Speedway, Atomic Speedway, Mansfield Motor Speedway, Limaland Motorsports Park, and once again at Wayne County Speedway for the $10,000-to-win finale.

MAVTV Motorsports Network, the official television home of the All Star Circuit of Champions, will be on hand to capture Ohio Sprint Speedweek action from Eldora Speedway and Muskingum County Speedway.

Each of the aforementioned events will televise on MAVTV Motorsports Network via tape-delayed broadcast later in the year.

Eldora Speedway’s event is scheduled to air on Sept. 8, at 8 p.m. and 11 p.m. Muskingum County Speedway’s Speedweek program will air on Sept. 15 in the same time slots.

“There are a lot of variables that need to come together to make Ohio Sprint Speedweek successful. Relationships with entities such as Cometic Gasket and Indy Metal Finishing, as well as Ollie’s Bargain Outlet and Mobil 1, allow those hopes of success to become a reality. We are truly honored to have such support,” said series owner Tony Stewart. “I also want to thank all of the participating tracks and their staff for coming together and making Speedweek bigger than ever in 2019. We hope for an enjoyable and weather-free week.”