It’s Aguilar In Southern Shootout Opener

Eventual winner Joey Aguilar (11) battles Dylon Reynolds (555) during Saturdays Southern Sprint Car Shootout Series race at 417 Southern Speedway. (David Sink photo)

PUNTA GORDA, Fla. — Joey Aguilar raced from sixth starting spot to win Saturday night’s Southern Sprint Car Shootout Series season opener at 417 Southern Speedway.

Aguilar drove his No. 11 to the front and held off perennial Florida sprint car contender Shane Butler to claim victory as 18 winged asphalt sprint cars took the green flag for the first race of the season.

Johnny Gilbertson, Dude Teate and Troy Decaire rounded out the top five.

The finish:

Joey Aguilar, Shane Butler, Johnny Gilbertson, Dude Teate, Troy Decaire, Dylan Reynolds, Scott Adema, Gary Wiggins, Sport Allen, Phil Haddad, Chaz Hambling, Michael Tharp, Keith Butler, Travis Bliemiester, Sonny Hartley, Daniel Miller, Tommy Nichols, Mickey Kempgens.