Agan Tops Sprint Invaders


WEST BURLINGTON, Iowa — Jon Agan bested a 30-car field Sunday night at 34 Raceway.

It was the Knoxville, Iowa driver’s first win at the track and the second in his career with the Brockway Mechanical & Roofing Sprint Invaders.

Agan led Josh Schneiderman and Roger Crockett at the outset of the feature. On lap three, Andy Huston lost his left front wheel. While the lead duo missed the incident, bad luck struck Crockett. He struck the errant tire at the wrong time in the wrong place, upending the Buffalo Wild Wings No. 82 and ending his night.

The restart saw Agan leading Josh Schneiderman, Jarrod Schneiderman, Jordan Weaver and Mike Houseman Jr. Three laps later, C.J. Houseman jumped the turn four cushion, struck the wall and tipped over.

Agan shot away each time in clean air. Josh Schneiderman tagged the turn four wall while running second on lap 13, allowing his brother, Jarrod, to surge by. Jarrod began gaining on Agan, who was in lapped traffic before Tim Moore came to a stop with 21 laps in the books, bringing a caution that set up a four lap dash to the checkers.

Agan breezed to the win in the Dee Zee Manufacturing/DMB Supply/Turp’s Automotive/Dickler Masch Plastics No. 4 ahead of Jarrod Schneiderman, Josh Schneiderman, Mike Houseman Jr. and Russ Hall.

“We’ve been pretty good here in a lot of ways, we just haven’t finished the deal,” said Agan. “We’ve had nights where we just haven’t finished it off and we wanted to make sure to do that tonight. We were pretty good in the heat race, and really good in the Dash. It was a great night. I can’t thank Jeff and Amy Laue and the Sprint Invaders officials enough for what they do. It’s such a great group to have and we’re fortunate to be a part of it.”

The finish:

Jon Agan, Jarrod Schneiderman, Josh Schneiderman, Mike Houseman Jr., Russ Hall, Bobby Mincer, Tony Shilling, Davey Heskin, John Schulz, Harold Pohren, Daniel Bergquist, Kris Miller, Dave Getchell, Mitchell Alexander, Jordan Weaver, Tim Moore, Damian Getchell, Kelly Graham, C.J. Houseman, Roger Crockett, Andy Huston.