Abreu Dominates Jacksonville MOWA Sprint

Abreu Dominates Jacksonville
Rico Abreu in action at Jacksonville Speedway Friday night. (Brendon Bauman photo)

JACKSONVILLE, Ill. – A fan favorite each time he rolls onto the surface at Jacksonville Speedway, California’s Rico Abreu dominated Friday night’s Built Ford Tough MOWA Sprint Car Series feature.

Abreu started outside of the front row and jumped to the early lead ahead of polesitter Jake Blackhurst, who had his night end early when he was involved in a front-stretch incident with Robbie Standridge.

The incident, which saw Standridge get upside down in front of the grandstands, brought out a red flag.

Upon returning to green flag conditions, Abreu proved his dominance by extending his lead over the field.

Mid-pack starters Buddy Kofoid and Joe B. Miller added excitement to the feature as they slowly worked their way towards the front, attempting to chase down Abreu.

But easily maneuvering through lapped traffic, Abreu set sail and never looked back, scoring his second MOWA win of the year over Kofoid, Hunter Schuerenberg, Miller and Logan Seavey, who won the POWRi midget feature.

Zeb Wise, making his first career 410 sprint car start, finished sixth after transferring through a B-main and charging forward from the 20th starting spot.

The Built Ford Tough MOWA Sprint Car Series ends its season with day two of the Short Track Championship weekend at Jacksonville on Oct. 5, featuring the Ron Milton Race of Champions.

The finish:

1. Rico Abreu (2), 2. Buddy Kofoid (8), 3. Hunter Schuerenberg (7), 4. Joe B Miller (3), 5. Logan Seavey (5), 6. Zeb Wise (20), 7. Skylar Gee (9), 8. Korey Weyant (11), 9. Cory Bruns (12), 10. Paul Nienhiser (15), 11. Joey Moughan (21), 12. Ayrton Gennetten (10), 13. Kyle Schuett (14), 14. Morgan Turpen (13), 15. Justin Standridge (16), 16. Zach Daum (22), 17. Mason Campbell (18), 18. Jacob Patton (19), 19. Jordan Goldesberry (17), 20. Jake Blackhurst (1), 21. Robbie Standridge (4), 22. Parker Price-Miller (6).