30th Sprint Car HoF Induction Set For May 31-June 1


KNOXVILLE, Iowa – The 30th annual National Sprint Car Hall of Fame induction festivities will be held May 31-June 1.

Tickets for Saturday’s induction banquet are $25 and can be ordered by contacting Lori DeMoss at 641-842-6176 or by e-mail at [email protected].  The banquet will again be held at Noon in the Dyer-Hudson Hall on the Marion County Fairgrounds in Knoxville, Iowa.  Festivities will get underway with a catered luncheon from Rib Shack.

Those individuals being inducted for their career achievements include: Drivers – Richard Griffin, Jason Johnson and Stevie Smith; Owners-Mechanics-Builders-Manufacturers-Car Sponsors – M.A. Brown and C.K. Spurlock; Promoters-Officials-Media Members-Event/Series Sponsors – Thomas J. Schmeh and Greg Stephens; and Pre-1945 Era – Bill Endicott.  Hall of Famers Dave Argabright and Pat Sullivan will emcee the event.

Following Saturday’s induction, inductees’ families and friends are invited back to the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame & Museum’s second floor for the unveiling of the new inductees’ plaques.

One of the highlights of the weekend also includes the attendance of previous National Sprint Car Hall of Fame inductees, making the May 31 festivities at the museum a must attend event. This year, that will be elevated with a screening of the documentary, “The Legend of Stan Bowman” in the museum’s theater on the second floor.  The film is tentatively scheduled to screen at 6 p.m.

Following the screening, at 7 p.m., will be our salute to our inductees on the museum’s second floor.  The reception and gathering of previous inductees always includes an open mic discussion with plenty of stories, true or fabricated!  The reception is free and open to the public. Pennsylvania’s Lynn Paxton and Indiana’s Steve Stapp are often the ring leaders, as we are treated to a night of stories from some of the greats of the sport.

Saturday evening, racing is scheduled at the Knoxville Raceway.  McKay Group/West Bend Insurance Night Knoxville Championship Cup Series racing will feature 410 sprint cars, 360 sprints featuring the Nebraska 360 Sprint Series and 305 sprints.