Tulsa Shootout Rolls Toward Conclusion


TULSA, Okla. — Pushing into “B” Features, the final chances for drivers to advance into Saturday’s championship features in the 29th annual Speedway Motors Tulsa Shootout are becoming few.

Completing 195 of the scheduled 234, Saturday will pick up with remaining “B” Features taking the top two from each into the night’s Last Chance Qualifiers. The top eight from each qualifier will join the drivers already locked into the championship events.

Thirty-nine events will take place on Saturday at the River Spirit Expo Center.

Going into the final day of competition, 138 drivers have earned at least one victory during the weekend. Austin Stone advanced his total to five on the weekend with California’s Giovanni Scelzi and Jason Rogers tallying up four along with five-time Shootout Champion, Kevin Bayer of Oklahoma.

The biggest mover of the night came in the seventh Outlaw Non-Wing “B” Feature. Racing out a “C” Feature, Cory Eliason charged from thirteenth for his second victory of the day.

Previewing Saturday’s “A” Features, 13 previous champions of the Tulsa Shootout are already locked in.

Two drivers seeking their third Golden Driller in as many years are Heath Duinkerken and Dahne Lynn McKay. Victorious the past two years in Outlaw competition, Duinkerken will grid the field sixth. McKay, who topped the Restricted “A” Class in 2012 and 2013, will begin her quest for her first Outlaw victory from the tenth. Tulsa’s Chris Andrews will line up twelfth. Twice a Shootout winner, Andrews’ wins come in non-wing competition, doing so in 2010 in “A” Class Non-Wing and 2013 in Outlaw Non-Wing.

ECOtec Midgets defending champion, Brian McClelland, earned a ninth starting spot with four-time Shootout champion, Blake Hahn, looking for his second triumph in the Midgets; earning the win in 2012. A winner in Restricted “A” Class in 2011, Dalton Seigler [formerly Wisely] will have to overcome engine woes if he plans to run for the Driller.

Defending Junior Sprint champion, Jadon Rogers, will return to defend his 2013 victory.

Looking for another shot at fame, defending “A” Class Non-Wing champion, Michael Faccinto, returns to defend his 2013 title. Joining the California shoe is four-time Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals winner, Kevin Swindell who has six Golden Drillers to his credit with wins coming at the shootout in 1991 and 1992 in Jr. 1 Karts. Chris Cochran, who topped “A” Class in 2013 also joins the list of locked in champions.

Taking a Junior Sprint driller back to California in 2005, Mitchell Faccinto has earned his place in the “A” Class feature event along with 2006 “A” Class champion, Scott Sawyer.

Non-Winged Outlaw carries the most past champions to transfer directly to the big dance. Finding Blake Hahn and Chris Andrews again, the two Oklahoma drivers are the only past winners already secured a spot in multiple classes on Saturday night. Jerrod Wilson brings his four wins to the table, three in “A” Class and one in Outlaw, along with 2001 Restricted winner Jonathan Beason.


Previous articleFigure 8 Events Set For Florida
Next articleTyler Bowers Sweeps Through Worcester
SPEEDSPORT.com is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.