Sue Thiel Memorial Now At Angell Park


SUN PRAIRIE, Wis. – The Lucas Oil POWRi National Midget Series and Stark Automotive Group/Mid-State Equipment Badger Midget Series doubleheader at Angell Park Speedway on May 25-26 will now be known as the 11th annual Sue Thiel Memorial.

Angell Park becomes the third different track to host the Thiel event, which started in 2002. Midget racing was part of the multi-division event from 2006-10, with Jerry Coons Jr. (2006-07), Cole Whitt (2008), Scott Hatton (2009) and Matt Smith (2010) scoring feature victories.

“It’s great we can continue the Thiel Family tradition at Angell Park. Dan has worked hard to build this event over the years,” said Angell Park promoter Kenny Brown.

The Badger 600 Micro Series and the Illini Racing Series will also participate in the two-day Memorial Day weekend event.

The first of eleven Badger events at the track is a week earlier on May 19. The event follows a successful two-day season opener at the Cedar Lake Speedway Arena in March, which has placed Thomas Meseruall atop the Badger Midget point standings, 10 points ahead of Danny Stratton.