Race Of Champions Is All Kyle Larson

On opening night of the Chili Bowl

Kyle Larson (71) races under Rico Abreu during the 2017 Vacuworx Invitational Race of Champions at the Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals. (Frank Smith photo)

TULSA, Okla. — Kyle Larson led non-stop to pick up the night’s $6,363.63 check in the ninth running of the Vacuworx Invitational Race of Champions following Tuesday night’s qualifying program for the 31st annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals presented by General Tire.

Normally a $2,500 to win event, Kim and Greg Stewart along with Doug and Mary Harris brought the amount up to honor the late Bryan Clauson.

Already a VIROC winner, this win was especially emotional for Larson as he and Clauson were close friends.

Following the interview, it was announced by Kim Stewart that the race is going to pay $6,363.63 to win from now on.

Larson started on the pole on Tulsa Expo Raceway and beat his Keith Kunz Racing teammate, Rico Abreu to the checkered flag in the all-star event.

Dave Darland finished third with Tim McCreadie and Thomas Meseraull rounding out the top five in the 20-lap event inside River Spirit Center.

Tyler Courtney won the night’s qualifying feature.

The finish:

Kyle Larson, Rico Abreu, Dave Darland, Tim McCreadie, Thomas Meseraull, Christopher Bell, Brady Bacon, Chad Boat, Cory Kruseman, Daryn Pittman, Tanner Thorson, Jerry Coons Jr., Danny Stratton, Damion Gardner, Tracy Hines, Sammy Swindell, Brad Loyet, J.J. Yeley, Donny Schatz, John Heydenreich.