POWRi Serves Macon Bacon


MACON, Ill. — Brady Bacon drove to a runaway victory in the POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget Series and Dereck King won his second feature of the season in the POWRi Speedway Motors 600cc Outlaw Micro Series on Saturday at Macon Speedway.

Bacon led the final 29 of the 30-lap feature on the one-fifth mile track and finished a quarter-lap ahead of Tyler Thomas. It was the sixth career victory in POWRi Midgets for the 22-year-old from Broken Arrow, Okla.

“I need that money in my pocket,” Bacon said. “It’s been a long winter. We’ve had a lot of rain outs and the money just hasn’t been coming in like it needs to be.”

Bacon, driving a Spike-Esslinger for car owner Scott Ronk, earned $2,000.

Thomas seriously challenged Bacon twice, but cautions stopped his charges.

“We had a fast car and I got past Bacon twice with slide jobs, but the cautions came out and put me in back of him,” the 17-year-old said. “I didn’t have much for Brady after that.”

Thomas and Thomas Meseraull spent the second half of the race dueling with slide jobs at both ends of the track. Meseraull finished third.

“It was a blast,” Thomas said. “I have to thank T-Mez for racing me as clean as he did. We were both racing extremely hard.”

Meseraull was a couple of car lengths short of Thomas at the checkered flag.

“I just couldn’t get it done,” he said. “It was a fun race.”

Bryan Clauson finished fourth, followed by Zach Daum in a strong field with 43 entries.

King finished three car lengths in front of 15-year-old Cale Thomas of Fairland, Ind., for his 22nd career victory in POWRi Micros. The three-time POWRi Micro champion started on the outside of the front row and led all 20 laps.

Aaron Andruskevitch finished third.

The finish:

Brady Bacon, Tyler Thomas, Thomas Meseraull, Bryan Clauson, Zach Daum, Jake Blackhurst, Andrew Felker, Colten Cottle, Tyler Robbins, Justin Peck, Tanner Thorson, Justin Grant, Park Price Miller, Shane Cockrum, John Campbell, Austin Brown, Terry Babb, Jerry Coons Jr., Chris Bell, Matt Ponder, Matt Sherrell, Nick Knepper.