McDougal & Bell Star In Tulsa Shootout Finale

Jason McDougal celebrates after scoring three Tulsa Shootout victories on Sunday night. (TeeJay Crawford Photo)

TULSA, Okla. – Winning one Golden Driller at the Lucas Oil Tulsa Shootout is an accomplishment. To win three in one night is nearly unheard of, but don’t tell that to Jason McDougal.

McDougal captured his first before going on to win two more on Sunday night with wins in Stock Non-Wing, A-Class, and Outlaw Non-Wing, making the Broken Arrow, Okla., driver the first to do so in Micro competition.

Contending for a fourth victory in the weekend’s final 55-lap Outlaw A-Feature, the cushion bit the driver of the Factor 1 Racing No. 73 while running third near the event’s half-way point. Running back to seventh was as far as McDougal would get before the engine finally gave up.

While McDougal’s evening was that of legend, the final checkered flag ultimately belonged to Christopher Bell.

Taking off sixth, Bell tested the high-line with little success at first, but as the race progressed the cushion would become a proving ground that sent several to the back of the line as well as the pits.

Giving chase up to the race’s half-way point as Pennsylvania’s Tyler Walton and Missouri’s Miles Paulus battled for the top spot, the laps saw never-ending slide jobs finally brought to rest by a caution on Lap 25.

With the cushion primed, Bell began his assault. Taking the lead with 20 laps to go following a series of back-and-forth laps with Miles Paulus, the caution set up for the winning slide job through the first and second turns. With the lead in hand, Bell went uncontested for his first career Tulsa Shootout triumph.

While McDougal and Bell were the talk of the town, Sunday’s series of A-Features saw four more first-time winners. Taking a Golden Driller home to California for the first time since 2014, Corey Day dominated in Restricted A-Class. In Junior Sprints, the Golden Driller stayed in Oklahoma with a win by Ryan Timms.

Racers are taking two Golden Drillers to the state of Texas. The first went to Kennedale’s Kyle Jones in the ECOtec Midget class. Getting docked a row for jumping the start, a misstep by Holley Hollan and Blake Hahn shot the No. 69 back to the point in the early laps.

Taking the coveted trophy back to Arlington, Texas was not an easy task for Anton Hernandez. Going after Sheldon Creed for the point after a lap nine restart, the pair at one point traded the lead six times in one lap before Hernandez finally gained the advantage.

With the additional six new winners, 347 drivers have now won an A-Feature at the Tulsa Shootout. McDougal is the 20th driver to earn three wins in Tulsa Shootout competition.

Overall the 33rd Lucas Oil Tulsa Shootout had 1,163 overall entries with 519 drivers drawing in for 1,136 of them. Competitors traveled to Tulsa from 32 states and two countries.