Last Chili Bowl Qualifier Features Grant, Schatz & More

Justin Grant will try to earn another Chili Bowl preliminary feature win on Friday night. (Brendon Bauman Photo)
Justin Grant will try to earn another Chili Bowl preliminary feature win on Friday night. (Brendon Bauman Photo)

TULSA, Okla. – Seeking his fourth Vacuworx Qualifying Night victory in a row at Tulsa Expo Raceway, Justin Grant will lead the final wave of Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals entrants into battle on Friday night.

Grant has won the last three Friday preliminaries at the Chili Bowl, and he’ll return to the seat of the RAMS Racing-owned, NOS Energy Drink-backed No. 4a Bullet/Stanton-SR11x for his effort in this year’s event.

Joining Grant as a heavy hitter in the Friday field is 10-time World of Outlaws NOS Energy Drink Sprint Car Series champion Donny Schatz, piloting the No. 15 Spike Chassis house car co-fielded by Spike owner Mark Cooper and the Curb-Agajanian Performance Group.

Schatz was the rookie of the race in his Chili Bowl debut in 2017, and returns to the race this year after a year away from the crown jewel event.

The pride of Fargo, N.D., won’t be the only World of Outlaws champion in Friday’s field, either. Daryn Pittman, the 2013 Outlaw titlist, will drive the No. 21 American Bank of Oklahoma Spike/Mopar as he seeks another start in the Saturday finale.

NASCAR star Justin Allgaier, an Xfinity Series pilot for JR Motorsports, will also be racing Friday. Allgaier will take the controls of the No. 7a Ripper/SR11 for Team Ripper Racing, under the direction of crew chief Flea Ruzic.

Multi-time Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series national champion Sam Hafertepe Jr. will pilot his own No. 15h Spike/Stanton-SR11x, while three-time Rumble in Fort Wayne national midget winner Justin Peck jumps in the No. 5k for Rusty Kunz and RMS Racing.

Reigning Vacuworx Invitational Race of Champions winner Tanner Thorson will wheel the No. 19 Oilfire Whiskey Spike/Stanton-SR11x for Hayward Motorsports and Tucker Klaasmeyer is steering the No. 27 Bullet/Toyota for Keith Kunz/Curb-Agajanian Motorsports.

Vacuworx Qualifying Night Entry List – Jan. 17, 2020

00S – Randy Sterling – Morrisdale, Pa.
1NP – Terry Nichols – Delano, Calif,
2R – Steven Drevicki – Reading, Pa.
3F – Tim Barber – Sonoma, Calif.
4A – Justin Grant – Ione, Calif.
4C – Kyle Bellm – Nixa, Mo.
4R – Jared Macintyre – Colorado Springs, Colo.
4X – Kyle Steffens – St. Charles, Mo.
5K – Justin Peck – Monrovia, Ind.
5o – Timmy Thrash – Gulfport, Miss.
7 – Shannon McQueen – Tehachapi, Calif.
7A – Justin Allgaier – Riverton, Ill.
7M – Brody Roa – Bueno Park, Calif.
7T – TBA – TBA
08J – Jace McIntosh – Bixby, Okla.
8K – Josh Hawkins – Whitehouse, Texas
9K – Kevin Olson – Machesney Park, Ill.
10J – Jeffrey Newell – Tulsa, Okla.
10K – Kyle Ezell – Elgin, Okla.
10W – Marcus Thomas – Corsicana, Texas
11D – Colton Fisher – Mediapolis, Iowa
13A – Austin Yarbrough – Little River, S.C.
14H – A.J. Hopkins – Danville, Ind.
14X – Jody Rosenboom – Rock Rapids, Iowa.
15 – Donny Schatz – Fargo, N.D.
15H – Sam Hafertepe Jr. – Sunnyvale, Texas
15J – David Prickett – Fresno, Calif.
15L – Merril Lamb – Iola, Kan.
17R – Alex Schutte – Rohnert Park, Calif.
17S – Ricky Stenhouse Jr. – Olive Branch, Miss.
17X – Kurt Stellhorn – Baldwin, Ill.
19 – Tanner Thorson – Minden, Nev.
19M – Ethan Mitchell – Mooresville, N.C.
19U – Pierce Urbanosky – North Richland Hills, Texas
19X – Don Droud Jr. – Lincoln, Neb.
20 – Tadd Holliman – Murray, Neb.
20C – Conor Daly – Indianapolis, Ind.
20G – Noah Gass – Mounds, Okla.
21 – Daryn Pittman – Owasso, Okla.
21S – Russell Shoulders – Forney, Texas
22B – Troy Betts – Townsend, Del.
25P – Chad Boespflug – Hanford, Calif.
C27 – Clint Wilson – Paradise, Calif.
27 – Tucker Klaasmeyer – Paola, Kan.
27A – A.J. Burns – Newcastle, Okla.
27F – Jesse Frazier – Tulsa, Okla.
28 – Ace McCarthy – Tahlequah, Okla.
29A – Timmy Buckwalter – Pottstown, Pa.
35 – Ben Schmidt – Howard Grove, Wis.
37M – Matt Mitchell – Costa Mesa, Calif.
37X – Karter Sarff – Mason City, Ill.
42C – Chris Cochran – McLoud, Okla.
44D – Evan Turner – Jacksonville, Ill.
52F – Logan Faucon – Springfield, Ill.
56X – Mark Chisholm – Cheyenne, Wyo.
57 – Maria Cofer – Macdoel, Calif.
57A – Bill Balog – North Pole, Alaska
68W – Josh Lakatos – Pasadena, Calif.
72C – Chris Tarrant – Rockwall, Texas
72J – Sam Johnson – St. Peters, Mo.
78 – TBA – TBA
81 – Colten Cottle – Kansas, Ill.
82 – Andrew Layser – Collegeville, Pa.
82H – Joshua Hanna – Tyler, Texas
84Z – Johnny Murdock – St. Louis, Mo.
87W – Ryan Bernal – Hollister, Calif.
88 – Terry Babb – Decatur, Ill.
88E – Tim Estenson – Hanford, Calif.
88W – Dustin Weland – Parker, Colo.
89 – Chris Windom – Canton, Ill.
92 – Josh Most – Red Oak, Iowa
93 – Dustin Morgan – Tulsa, Okla.
93Z – Zachary Patterson – Yukon, Okla.
95 – Chris Andrews – Tulsa, Okla.
95T – Buddy Tubbs – Colorado Springs, Colo.
911 – Waylon Weaver – Claremore, Okla.

How to Watch the Chili Bowl:

LIVE From the Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Presented by MyRacePass – Story Index Page
News, analysis, interviews, behind-the-scenes and more – updated throughout each day.

LIVE PPV Streaming Broadcast –
Monday – Saturday coverage

LIVE Television Broadcast –
Saturday, Jan. 18th at 8:30pm EST

LIVE Timing and Scoring – MyRacePass

SPEED SPORT’s Chili Bowl coverage is presented by MyRacePass, the official timing and scoring app of the 2020 Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals. Fans can download the MyRacePass app on their phones to follow all the action during the Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals. For more information on MyRacePass, visit and use the hashtag #GetTheApp on Twitter!