Last Chili Bowl Qualifier Boasts NASCAR Stars & More

Final Chili Bowl Qualifier
Ricky Stenhouse Jr. (17s) and Daryn Pittman are both among the entries for the final Chili Bowl prelim night. (Brendon Bauman photo)

TULSA, Okla. – Perhaps the most wide-open night of the week at the 35th Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals, Friday’s Driven2SaveLives Qualifying Night features several NASCAR stars and two recent preliminary feature winners among its heavy hitters.

Leading the charge for the NASCAR contingent is Cup Series regular Ricky Stenhouse Jr., who will wheel the No. 17s for Clauson Marshall Racing in an attempt to make his fourth Chili Bowl feature start in the last six years.

Stenhouse is joined in the Friday field by NASCAR Xfinity Series regular Justin Allgaier, piloting the Evel Knievel-inspired No. 1a for Team Ripper Racing; and J.J. Yeley, one of the longest-tenured Chili Bowl veterans making his 26th appearance at the event this year.

Three-time preliminary night winner Justin Grant, regarded as one of the favorites for the final tune-up, will strap into the RMS Racing-prepared, NOS Energy Drink-backed No. 2j.

Defending Friday winner Tanner Thorson takes the wheel of the Dave Mac Motorsports No. 08. Both Grant and Thorson are with new teams this year compared to last January.

Daryn Pittman, the 2013 World of Outlaws sprint car champion, returns behind the wheel of his own No. 21 after stepping away from full-time competition at the end of last year. He and Aaron Reutzel – who is driving for CB Industries – represent the Outlaws Friday.

Other Friday notables include POWRi WAR sprint car ace Anthony Nicholson, ASCS star Harli White, POWRi midget veteran Ace McCarthy, World of Outlaws Late Model Series race director Casey Shuman, former NASCAR Cup Series star Kasey Kahne and 2008 Chili Bowl champion Damion Gardner.

The full projected entry list for Friday night’s Driven2Save Lives Qualifying Night can be viewed below. Sixty-six cars, one of the highest counts of the week, are entered.

Driver2SaveLives Qualifying Night Entry List

Car No. – Driver – Hometown (Entrant)

0 – Johnny Murdock – Kaufman, Texas (Team Zero)
0T – Alex Schriever – Sioux Falls, S.D. (Teresa Davis)
1a – Justin Allgaier – Riverton, Ill. (Team Ripper)
1k – Brayton Lynch – Springfield, Ill. (Rusty Kunz)
1x – Anthony Esberg – Kelseyville, Calif. (T&A Automotive)
2g – J.J. Yeley – Charlotte, N.C. (Jack Yeley)
2j – Justin Grant – Ione, Calif. (RMS Racing)
2x – Brent Beauchamp – Avon, Ind. (Mark Bush)
3g – Kyle Cummins – Princeton, Ind. (Jack Yeley)
7 – Michelle Decker – Guthrie, Okla. (Decker)
7g – Jimmy Glenn – Middletown, Pa. (Glenn Motorsports)
7jr – JD Black – Grain Valley, Mo. (Scott Robinson)
7s – TBA – TBA (Pat Schudy)
08 – Tanner Thorson – Minden, Nev. (Dave Mac Motorsports)
9j – Anthony Nicholson – Bartlett, Tenn. (Hagar-Proctor Racing)
10j – Lane Goodman – Broken Arrow, Okla. (Hunt Brothers)
11h – Harli White – Lindsay, Okla. (Andee Beierle)
11w – Aaron Werner – Colman, S.D. (Metalworx Motorsports)
11y – Travis Young – Franklin, Ind. (Travis Young)
14 – Jesse Colwell – Red Bluff, Calif. (Robert Dalby Motorsports)
14b – Jonathan Halford – Tulsa, Okla. (Jet Motorsports)
14r – Jake Nail – Muskogee, Okla. (Jim Neuman)
14x – Jody Rosenboom – Rock Rapids, Iowa (Jody Rosenboom)
15L – Luke Howard – Overland Park, Kan. (Rick Horn)
17s – Ricky Stenhouse Jr. – Olive Branch, Miss. (Clauson Marshall Racing)
18 – Travis Welpott – Pendleton, Ind. (Gorman-Welpott)
19m – Ethan Mitchell – Mooresville, N.C. (John Mitchell)
19r – Gage Rucker – Bellflower, Mo. (Hayward Motorsports)
19s – Hunter Schuerenberg – Sikeston, Mo. (Reinbold-Underwood)
19u – Pierce Urbanosky – North Richland Hills, Texas (AC Urbanosky)
20y – Austin Yarbrough – Little River, S.C. (Randy Gass)
21 – Daryn Pittman – Owasso, Okla. (Pittman Motorsports)
22L – Lucas Scherb – Decatur, Texas (Scott Scherb)
22z – Zac Millikin – Tulsa, Okla. (James Hoover)
25 – Harley Hollan – Tulsa, Okla. (Petry Motorsports)
25m – TBA – TBA (Tom Malloy)
27 – Tucker Klaasmeyer – Paola, Kan. (Keith Kunz/Curb-Agajanian)
27s – Austin Wood – Germantown, Tenn. (Shawn Wood)
28 – Ace McCarthy – Tahlequah, Okla. (Dave Mac Motorsports)
32w – Casey Shuman – Rattlesnake Bend, Ariz. (Mike & Brian Dunlap)
35t – Casey Schmitz – Chico, Calif. (MSW Motorsports)
36 – Kevin Reed – Laredo, Texas (Kevin Reed)
37x – Bill Balog – North Pole, Alaska (A.J. Felker)
44d – Evan Turner – Jacksonville, Ill. (Jerry Meents)
44w – Eric Wilkins – El Mirage, Ariz. (Ashley & Laura Corey)
44x – Wesley Smith – Nixa, Mo. (Rick Horn)
56i – Luke Icke – Littleton, Colo. (Mark Chisholm)
57w – Kasey Kahne – Enumclaw, Wash. (Matt Wood Racing)
60 – Earl McDoulett Jr. – Claremore, Okla. (James Hoover)
68 – Ronnie Gardner – Corona, Calif. (Six8 Motorsports)
71.5 – Robert Bell – Colfax, Iowa (Robert Bell)
71g – Damion Gardner – Concord, Calif. (Charlie Leffler-Klatt Enterprises)
72j – Sam Johnson – St. Peters, Mo. (Joe Johnson)
72x – Chris Tarrant – Rockwall, Texas (Donita Morris)
73b – Tyler Edwards – Salina, Okla. (JFM)
80 – Josh Hawkins – Whitehouse, Texas (Brad Hawkins)
81g – Chase Jones – Greenfield, Ind. (Brandon Gray)
82m – TBA – TBA (Matt Hollon)
86 – TBA – TBA (CB Industries)
87 – Aaron Reutzel – Clute, Texas (CB Industries)
88n – Tim Estenson – Fargo, N.D. (Netto Racing)
88w – Dustin Weland – Parker, Colo. (Weland)
96 – Cody Brewer – Choctaw, Okla. (Central Motorsports)
97k – Jesse Love – Menlo Park, Calif. (Keith Kunz/Curb-Agajanian)
99 – Anthony Macri – Dillsburg, Pa. (CD Racing)
101 – Chuck McGillivray – Madison, S.D. (Morgan Frewaldt)

SPEED SPORT’s LIVE From the Chili Bowl coverage is supported by MyRacePass, KICKER, Curb Records and Swann Communications! To find out more about each of our partners and to check out all of SPEED SPORT’s Chili Bowl coverage, visit our Chili Bowl Index Page! DON’T MISS SPEED SPORT’S LIVE From the Chili Bowl on Saturday, Jan. 16 at 6:30 p.m. ET on MAVTV and watch the Chili Bowl finale LIVE Saturday, Jan. 16 at 8:30 p.m. on MAVTV!