Kunz Brings Back McIntosh For Another Chili Bowl

Cannon McIntosh will return to Keith Kunz Motorsports for the Chili Bowl Nationals in January. (Brendon Bauman photo)

TULSA, Okla. – Keith Kunz/Curb-Agajanian Motorsports filled out the final open space on its Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals roster Thursday with reigning preliminary-night winner Cannon McIntosh.

McIntosh won the Monday night qualifier for the Super Bowl of Midget Racing this past January and continued to impress during the Saturday finale, finishing third behind former KKM stars Kyle Larson and Christopher Bell.

The Bixby, Okla., teenager raced full time for KKM this season in both the USAC NOS Energy Drink National Midget Series and the POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget League.

McIntosh was strong in both series, earning two victories in USAC competition and three wins in POWRi action. He ended the year ranked fifth in the USAC standings and third in POWRi points, with one POWRi start made for his father’s Dave Mac Motorsports team.

After as strong a year as he had this season with KKM, McIntosh is eager to return to the River Spirit Expo Center and continue building on the success that he and the team have had so far.

“I’m very excited to get back to the Chili Bowl with KKM after such a successful effort last year inside the Expo,” said McIntosh. “It’s going be a little weird (feeling) with less fans, but it’s still going to be a great experience, and I’m really looking forward to it!”

This coming January will mark McIntosh’s third career Chili Bowl attempt and second as a part of the Keith Kunz and Pete Willoughby-led KKM team.

In his rookie Chili Bowl appearance in 2019, as a fresh-faced 16 year old and driving for his family-owned team, McIntosh made it to a B main on Saturday night and came within one position of securing Chili Bowl rookie-of-the-year honors.

He also made history that year as the youngest driver in Chili Bowl history to record a top-five finish in preliminary-night competition.

McIntosh will be joined by KKM teammates Tucker Klaasmeyer, Kaylee Bryson, Daison Pursley, Brian Carber, Buddy Kofoid, Rico Abreu, Holley Hollan, Jesse Love and Tanner Carrick during the Chili Bowl next month.

The 35th Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals takes place Jan. 11-16 inside the River Spirit Expo Center in Tulsa, Okla.

SPEED SPORT’s LIVE From the Chili Bowl coverage is supported by MyRacePass, KICKER, Curb Records and Swann Communications! To find out more about each of our partners and to check out all of SPEED SPORT’s Chili Bowl coverage, visit our Chili Bowl Index Page! DON’T MISS SPEED SPORT’S LIVE From the Chili Bowl on Saturday, Jan. 16 at 6:30 p.m. ET on MAVTV and watch the Chili Bowl finale LIVE Saturday, Jan. 16 at 8:30 p.m. on MAVTV!