Jankowiak Conquers The Gambler’s Classic


ATLANTIC CITY, N.J. – Andy Jankowiak roared to victory in Saturday’s Gambler’s Classic Indoor Auto Racing Series 40-lap three-quarter midget feature inside Boardwalk Hall.

Jankowiak took the lead on lap six from fellow front row starter Anthony Sesely and led the rest of the way despite constant pressure from Ryan Flores and Tim Buckwalter.

Jankowiak earned $5,000 for the victory, then promptly donated half his winnings to Mike Tidaback and his family. Tidaback suffered serious injuries in this race one year ago and was present at the track.

Buckwalter and Flores swapped second with Buckwalter taking the runner-up spot from Flores for keeps nine laps from the finish. Flores held on for third, with Justin Bonsignore fourth and Erick Rudolph fifth.

Eddie Strada, Sesely, Matt Janisch, Briggs Danner and Midwesterner Billy Wease completed the top-10.

Doug Stearly raced to the 20-lap win in the Champ Kart feature with Cole Neibert, Todd Crenshaw, Mike Perry and Ryan Kendall rounding out the top five.

Danny Buccafusca raced his way to the 20-lap Slingshot victory, which represented the 10th Indoor Auto Racing Series win for car owner Randy Smith. Craig Whitmoyer, who had won an Indoor Series so on dirt in December in Trenton, N.J., was second, with Tyler Truex, Danny Spellmon and Nick Shaw completing the top five.

The finish:

Andy Jankowiak, Tim Buckwalter, Ryan Flores, Justin Bonsignore, Erick Rudolph, Eddie Strada, Anthony Sesely, Matt Janisch, Briggs Danner, Billy Wease, Anthony Payne, Matthew Roselli, Timmy Catalano, Earl Paules, Randy Cabral, Shawn Nye, Andrew Molleur, Jonathan Reid, Kyle Lick, Tim Nye, Ryan Tidman, John Ivy, Tommy Catalano, Marc Johnson, Lou Cicconi, Tyler Thompson.