Indoor Series Set To Invade Allentown


ALLENTOWN, Pa. – The Indoor Auto Racing Series Fueled By VP Race Fuels is ready to roll in the first race of the New Year.

The PPL Center in downtown Allentown, Pa., will be the site, on Jan. 4-5, for the running of the Ironton Telephone Indoor Race Presented By BELFOR.

Two complete racing programs on back-to-back nights include qualifying and feature events headlined by the powerful three-quarter midgets. They will be joined by the Champ Karts on Friday night’s card and the Slingshots on Saturday.

Nearly 40 three-quarter midget drivers and teams have already entered the two day race weekend, including past event winners Erick Rudolph, Justin Bonsignore, Ryan Flores and Scott Kreutter.

Rudolph, Bonsignore and Flores will be driving cars built by Mark Lafler, while Kreutter will wheel the same Trey Hoddick-built car in which he scored a popular win last year.

Bonsignore and Kreutter were the 2018 Allentown race winners. Bonsignore parlayed his PPL Center win into a successful run at the Indoor Auto Racing Series Fueled By VP Race Fuels championship. Bonsignore then went outdoors and won of eight of 16 NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour races and that championship as well.

Though past three-quarter midget race winners have been from outside the Lehigh Valley, Pa., area, a strong contingent of Eastern Pennsylvania drivers have filed entries for this year’s race.

Among them are rising star Briggs Danner, reigning ATQMRA Midget outdoor champion Matt Janisch, multi-time past ATQMRA outdoor champion Ryan Tidman, perennial Indoor contender Tim Buckwalter and three-quarter midget veteran Matt Roselli.

Other Eastern Pennsylvania drivers who have entered the Ironton Telephone Indoor Race Presented By BELFOR events are Pat Bealer, Steve Craig, Chad Jones, and Kyle Lick.

Joe Toth, who won several outdoor dirt Sportsman features this past season, will be making his first three-quarter midget start in this race as a teammate to former winner Mike Iles.

Dirt Sportsman racer Craig Whitmoyer is one of the local pre-race favorites in the Slingshot event. Whitmoyer, the winner of the recent East Coast Indoor Dirt Nationals in Trenton, N.J., on dirt in a Slingshot, hopes to add a win on the concrete floor in Allentown to his growing resume.

Jared Silfee, Anthony Raisner, Kurt Bettler, Cody Kline, Dylan Hoch, and Adam and Steve Svanda are among other prominent greater Lehigh Valley area entrants in the Slingshot division.  Brian DeCosta and Matt Andrews are among the regional favorites in the Champ Kart event.