Indoor Racers Preparing For Albany Slugfest


ALBANY, N.Y. – The roar of racing engines will reverberate in the dead of winter in the State of New York for the first time in nearly two decades when the Times Union Center comes alive with Indoor Auto Racing Series Fueled By VP Race Fuels on Feb. 9-10.

Len Sammons, Indoor Auto Racing Series event promoter, has high expectations for the inaugural Albany race.

“With so many of our top TQ drivers from New York State, we expect a big home state turnout to cheer them on,” Sammons said. “Erick Rudolph and Scott Kreutter won our first two races and both are Empire Staters.”

The last Indoor racing held in New York State took place on Saturday, May 9, 2002, at Niagara Falls Convention Center in Niagara Falls, N.Y., and was won by Lou Cicconi Jr.

Heading into the Indoor Auto racing Series finale for the TQ Midget class, Long Island native Justin Bonsignore leads the series point standings over two-time past champion Rudolph.

Bonsignore has his sights set on his first Indoor Auto Racing Championship. If he succeeds, he’ll earn the TC Cup, emblematic of excellence in Indoor TQ racing and presented in memory of the late Ted Christopher, an eight-time Indoor Auto Racing Series A-Main winner.

“Nobody wants to win that TC Cup more than I do,” Bonsignore said during post-race ceremonies at the Indoor event in Atlantic City.

Other Empire Staters who are likely entrants in the Indoor Auto Racing Championship TQ event include Ronnie Flaim, D.J. Forbes Jr., Bobby Holmes, Shawn and Andrew Nye, Timmy and Tommy Catalano, Andy Jankowiak, Ryan Bartlett and Tyler Thompson.

The wild card for the TQ Midget drivers and their teams is the fact that the Times Union Center is a first-time venue: no one knows exactly how the track will develop and to what extent it will change over time.

The TQ Midgets will be supported by two classes the Slingshot class and the recently added Champ Kart division.

In the Indoor Auto Racing Series Slingshot point’s battle, Brett Bieber moved to the top of the scoring pylon with his Atlantic City win. He is just 15 points ahead of Kyle Herve and 35 markers ahead of Cody Kline. Kurt Bettler and Danny Buccafusca trail in the top five.

Top New York State Slingshot entrants include Dan Morgiewicz, Damon Paul, Matt Hitchcock, Nick DelCampo, Brandon McGill and Don Boonstra.

Champ Karts were added to the Saturday schedule by popular demand.

“Though we had not scheduled them initially, their races in Allentown and Atlantic City were extremely competitive,” Sammons said. “Several of the top Kart drivers are from New York State so we look for a regional rivalry to develop.”

Cale Ross is undefeated in series competition this winter and has earned the Champ Kart division championship. Ross’s chief rival could very well be Chris Daley, the veteran who has earned eight Indoor Auto Racing Series victories in his career.

Since the Albany Champ Kart race was an added event, race promoter Sammons is making the race a non-points paying affair.